Red, The Color of Despair

I’m throwing a bit of a pity party over here at Brotherly Love.  Complete with my fair share of alcoholic beverages.

If you’re not in the mood for such a party I suggest you turn away now.

It was one of those weekends.

You know the ones.  They start off with such hope and grace.

Friday was popcorn and movie night.  We treated the boys to a little juice along with their popcorn.  We don’t allow soda for the boys and we try to limit their juice intake.  Even more so we try to limit their juice intake to something more natural – without artificial colors and flavors.

Our one exception to this rule is Crystal Light or Crystal Light type products.  We love their peach tea and their raspberry ice.  And it keeps US from drinking soda so we indulge.

Recently we switched to the Target brand of the Crystal Light drink.  We made Cherry Limeade for our family to drink with our popcorn.  It was delicious going down.

It was not so great when the red dye kicked in sometime in the middle of the night.

Neither of the boys slept well, though they were both exhausted from the week.  Both were up early and rushed through the day at high speeds.  If Eli stopped talking for more than 30 seconds on Saturday it was because night had FINALLY fallen and he was sleeping.

Oh, believe me, we quickly realized the mistake we’d made.  We put the red dye under lock and key.  We hoped that it would go away.  Amazingly, what took a mere moments to consume took DAYS to be completely removed from the systems of 2 unsuspecting boys.

And, wow, did we pay for that mistake.

Red apparently makes little boys mean.  I haven’t seen them fight so much in ages.  They yelled.  They called names.  By far the most creative was Eli’s comment of “I’m not staying here with Furious George”.  Aimed directly at me of course.  You can laugh, it’s ok.  I wanted to wring his little neck for that one but I can laugh about his ingenuity now.

Today was no better.  Hence the pity party.

I started the day by slipping in the tub and banging my chin.  Not enough to split it open but enough to bruise it, make my jaw hurt and my head and neck ache.

I held poor Keegan down so that a nurse could give him a shot at his 5 year check up.  Yep, the shitty part of being a mom.

I put Eli through hell at the eye doctor (more on that tomorrow) so that we could get some answers.  Much like Keegan’s shot, it’s a necessary part of life but one I hate putting my kids through.

Now, as I sat here typing, I heard the pitter patter of little feet from above.  Sniffles and tears at the top of the stairs.  I put down my laptop and moved swiftly to the top of the stairs.  About half way up the smell hit me.  A pile of clothes was laying in the middle of the floor.  A mostly naked little boy was covered in vomit.

I hugged him and snuggled him and made him feel safe.  I cleaned him and brushed his teeth.  I dressed him in clean jammies.  Then I proceeded to strip his bed and remake the bed.  I started a load of laundry and now I sit with him on the couch.

It is my hope that this is the end.  That the snuggles will make it better.  That the red dye has been abducted by aliens never to be heard from again.

And so ends the party, as parties often do, with some poor soul praying to the porcelain Gods.  Thanks for coming.  Hope you had a ball.

Here’s hoping that tomorrow’s a better day!

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Red, The Color of Despair

  1. Debbi Henry says:

    Oh huge hugs Heather! I hope this gets over very soon and remember “This too shall pass!”.

  2. Kate says:

    Who knew an innocent drink could cause o much trouble?!?

  3. Holy Cow! That’s quite an ordeal! Now I’m going to check the sugar-free Kool Aid in the pantry for the evil red dye!

  4. Patty says:

    That so sucks! And you know, I think it’s good to indulge in a good pity party once in a while. At least that’s what I tell myself when I’m having one.

  5. Elastamom says:

    That is quite the ordeal…I’ve never noticed my kids reacting to red dye but I’ve heard of others having that issue. Hope they feel better!!!

Leave a Reply

