Ode to Spring

The furnace is off and still the thermostat reads 71 degrees.

Grass is turning a bold shade of green.

Areas of the yard are beginning to beg for the blade of the lawnmower.

Robins prance about the yard tweeting for me to fill the feeders, clean the bird bath.

The flower bed is beginning to fill with beautifully colored blossoms.

The mailbox screams for another coat of stain after the long, harsh winter.

Chalk volcanoes cover the length of the driveway.

Reality of growing boys rings clear as they ride down the sidewalk on shrinking bikes.

Neighbors once again join each other in filling the subdivision with the incredible smells of seasoned meats.

Soccer balls, bats and baseballs and bases fill the empty spots in the backyard.

Doorbells ring with young children begging to play with their friends.

The sun dominates the sky and sends warmth across the land.

We welcome you, Spring.  It’s been all too long.

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ode to Spring

  1. Debbi Henry says:

    Ahhhhhh, sweeet, sweet spring…..

Leave a Reply

