A Little Lesson

Eli had a visit with the worry doctor last week.

My honey mentioned his recent anger and discussed our speculation regarding his anxiety over transition to 1st grade.  More on that tomorrow…

Anyway, back Eli went to discuss the concerns that he had.

What he learned (and what we learned) is that he has some things that he worries about but, more often, has things that stress him.  As we ask him about his worries and he answers that he has none, he’s telling the truth.  What he really has is stress.

So he talked with the worry doctor about his stress.  She read him a fabulous story about a chicken who was afraid and stressed about trying new things.  Someone challenged the chicken to start a rock pile with a rock for every new thing he tried.  Soon the pile was taller than the coup and the chicken felt a sense of accomplishment instead of stress.

Eli made a rock pile of sorts as well.  His list included things like going to see the worry doctor, going to school, playing soccer, playing t-ball and more.  She left lots of blank rocks so that he could feel inspired to try more new things instead of being stressed about new things.

I got to thinking on the drive home.  How do I feel about trying new things?  It stresses me out too.  I worry about trivial things.  So, I’m starting my own rock pile.  I hope to try something new everyday, no matter how small.

My list thus far…

– taking Keegan to a friend’s birthday party where I knew no one and didn’t completely know where I was going

– making a Despicable Me cake for my birthday boy (to be repeated on a cookie cake later this week!)

– throwing a bowling birthday party for my son with a group of 4, 5 and 6-year-olds

– speaking out during a staff meeting about some sensitive topics

It’s actually pretty exciting to do this.  And I do feel a sense of accomplishment!

I challenge you to start a rock pile.  What new things have you done recently?  What new things are you worried about or scared of?  What are you hoping to try soon?

I challenge you to stop hoping and start doing.  Make that rock pile grow!

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Little Lesson

  1. This is brilliant! I’m not good at all about trying new things. I can’t wait to hear what else you try!

  2. Elastamom says:

    That is a great idea. Hmmmm….

  3. Patty says:

    Great post! I find myself holding back so often because I am nervous to try new things. It’s good to remember the example we are setting for our kids. And getting out of our comfort zones can be a good thing.

Leave a Reply

