Snuggle Bug

It started Friday.

My sweet, youngest boy wasn’t feeling quite right.

He didn’t eat pretty much all day.

He ran a low-grade fever.

He vomited when he drank water to take Tylenol for the fever.

By the time I returned home from work he was laying on the couch.

We snuggled while his brother went to therapy.

We watched movies on Netflix.

Though he’d had a 2+ hour nap that day he headed to bed when his brother did.

Shortly after 6am Saturday morning he awoke in pain.  His throat hurt.  His fever was much worse.

We moved downstairs so as to not awaken the others in our home.  He took Tylenol again as much for the pain as for the fever.

We snuggled on the couch watching Disney Junior.

The poor boy was clearly miserable.  He wouldn’t eat but would drink ice water.

At 8am I called the doctor’s office.

A big shout out here to our pediatrician’s office for having Saturday hours!!!  We surely would have been in the ER otherwise.

I’m pretty sure it’s Strep I told them.  We’ll see you at 10:40 they replied.

The nurse took a quick look at his throat and swabbed him immediately so we didn’t have to wait longer.

The doctor came in to say there was no doubt it was Strep.  And now he had the rash on his face and torso to go with along with it.

Less than an hour and plus one prescription for amoxicillin later we were on our way.

We spent the remainder of the day watching movies, snuggling and resting.

We pushed 2 rounds of antibiotics in him yesterday.  We got him to take Motrin and Tylenol to fight the fever.

This morning he was cold.

The fever was gone.

He ate breakfast for the first time in 2 days.  He ate snacks and lunch and dinner.

He played outside and jumped on the trampoline.

He played in the basement.

He went to bed a sick little boy and awoke this morning my sweet, little Keegan.

And now we push vitamin C for all of us in any form we can get it.  No one else needs to get this!

Especially not when we have someone’s 5th birthday party coming up next weekend…

More to come on the fabulous birthday party planned for the youngest of my growing boys!

Hope your households are warm and healthy!!!

 

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Snuggle Bug

  1. Debbi Henry says:

    I’m so glad he had a quick recovery! Strep is the worst! Good luck keeping everyone else healthy!
    I can’t wait to hear more about the birthday party plans!

  2. Elastamom says:

    My oldest two are currently feeling lousy too!! Fingers crossed no one else in your house gets it!

Leave a Reply

