This Life

I love that I am not a single mom.  That I have someone to share this crazy parenting gig with.  Someone who loves my boys just as much as I do.

But, there’s something to be said for spending a little quality time with those same boys.  When they have only me to turn to, only me to play with.

It gives me the opportunity to be the “cool” mom.  To do special things with them that we likely wouldn’t do with 2 parents around because, somehow, errands always take over.

Over time the boys and I have:

Camped out in the backyard

Tripped it to the zoo in February

Gone on bike rides or hikes

Gone sledding

Gone to the cabin – just the 3 of us

My honey has enjoyed her time alone with them too doing similar things.

Today I got to pick Keegan up from school.  I got to be home to get Eli off the bus.  I got to treat them to a special snack before Karate.  I got to enjoy their Karate lesson all by myself.  I got to treat them to a kid’s meal on the way home.  I snuggled with them on the couch and watched Sonic with them.

It was an awesome afternoon.

I’m looking forward to spring break and spending time with just the 2 of them.  I love, so much, the person I am when I’m with them.

I love this life I’ve been given!

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to This Life

Leave a Reply

