Opposite Worlds

Tonight was karate night.  So much fun to watch the boys grow and learn and follow the rules and recite the creed and mimic the moves.  Amazing to watch the discipline they have for the art.

They boys asked to go to dinner after if they did a good job at karate.  We obliged with the understanding that perhaps we could do this once a month to celebrate all of their successes.

Off to Max & Erma’s for kids eat free Tuesday.  They boys love it there!  We were recognized by our favorite waiter if that says anything ;).

During dinner we were talking about the birthday party that Eli is going to attend this weekend.  He had a job to ask his friend what she wanted for her birthday.  He forgot to ask her during school today and promptly asked me to remind him in the morning to ask her tomorrow.  I said I would.

Suddenly the conversation changed.  One of Keegan’s friends from school was sitting at a table nearby and started crying because her parents wouldn’t allow her to go running across the restaurant to tackle Keegan with a hug – go figure!

Eli piped up that Keegan’s *girlfriend* was at the restaurant and he should say hi to her.  Who knew the big brother girlfriend teasing would start so soon???  Keegan blushed a little but quickly told Eli that EJ was his best buddy – NOT his girlfriend.  Eli grinned and said well *I* have a girlfriend.

Of course I had to take the bait.  He would have been disappointed if I hadn’t!  I asked who.  Then HE blushed a little!  He hid behind my honey and asked her to give me clues about who it was.  I’ve never seen him be so cutesy shy before.  Of course the little girl happened to be L whom he’s had a crush on since the very beginning of the school year.  At least he’s consistent!

The conversation that followed between the two boys was very interesting.  Keegan talked a lot about his best buddies – many of them girls.  Eli talked about girlfriends.  Keegan very much held to the point that boys and girls can be friends.  Eli said they could be but that he needed to have a girlfriend.

It was a bit of a glimpse into the future of these two young men.  A rather scary glimpse at that!  I fear answering my door and finding fathers with shotguns looking for my sons.

On the other hand, they recognize the importance of love.  They see that it can be for friendship and for something so much more.  Certainly they don’t understand all that love can encompass at such a young age.  However, we seem to be setting the stage for something positive in the future.

Of course, that doesn’t mean it doesn’t make me totally crazy!  They are my sweet, innocent boys after all.

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in The Boys. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Opposite Worlds

  1. Debbi Henry says:

    What a sweet glimpse into their future. What nice young men they will grow to be!

  2. Elastamom says:

    Isn’t it crazy how early it starts? A girl KISSED Matty at school the other day!?!? Gabe was horrified.

Leave a Reply

