Magnetic Energy

A sweet little lamb has been hanging out since yesterday.

He was kind enough to bring gifts in the hopes that he’ll be staying for a while.  Personally, I’m totally diggin’ the gifts and plan to keep that nasty lion at bay for as long as humanly possible.

I saw the first buds on a bush yesterday as I rang the doorbell on a home I was visiting for work.  I’m certain I looked like an idiot as the couple answered the door because I was leaning off their front stoop to make absolutely sure that I wasn’t hallucinating.

The grass in the front lawn is not only visible again but it is green.  This is the time of the year when I’m actually excited about mowing the lawn because it means the shovels go into hibernation.  Of course, this sensation will wear off by about mid May.

There are little green buds trying to peak their way through the thick clay in my front flower bed.  Even the lavender that hides the electrical box in my front yard has a new vibrance to it.

I long to spend the day outside.  I’m excited to need my sunglasses because of sun instead of glare from the snow.  I shed the winter gear for the cute spring jacket.

My children beg to be outside.  The warmer breezes call to them.  So does the ditch and the field…

I am thrilled beyond belief to be the mommy to boys.  At this point I don’t really know what I would do with a girl.  Trucks and Lego’s and rough and tumble play are all I know.

But, why?  Why does mud appeal so much to my boys?  Why does standing water that only slightly conceals the sinking sludge underneath pull my boys into its clenches?  What is it about an open field with a standing lake in it that makes it the most exciting thing in the neighborhood?

I encourage their creativity.  I foster their adventurous sides.

Is it so much to ask that my Maytag washing machine not play a major role on their journeys?

Mother Nature…  I’m begging you.  Please shift the magnetic forces of the planet.  Draw my boys back to their yard.  Back to their trampoline.  Back to their jungle gym.  Hell, even back to the tree that they both now climb!

And Mr. Lion???  Just keep your growling, cranky self in the cave.  You are not welcome here.  The sweet, innocent lamb is going to help us make things bright and cheery.  And if there are flowers to look at and smell, I may just forget about the giant mud pit that would make wrestling fans drool.

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in The Boys. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Magnetic Energy

  1. Mrs.Mayhem says:

    Boys are so fun, but they are a little messy. Although I suspect my daughters would be right there in that mud pit with them!

  2. Debbi Henry says:

    Gracie would totally be in the mud!!
    Your descriptions of spring sound heavenly!

Leave a Reply

