Feelings

Friday nights are generally popcorn and movie night at our house.

We eat an early dinner.  We snuggle together on couches.  We begin to watch whatever movie that we have picked as a family.

On a recent trip to the video store my boys decided that we needed to watch the new Dogs & Cats movie – The Revenge of Kitty Galore.

The first move was really cute so we agreed.

We enjoyed the movie, and the popcorn.  But at the end of the movie the air became very somber.

Keegan was crying and had the saddest face.

Mommy, we can’t watch that movie again.  It made me too sad.

What part made you sad buddy?

The part when he had to put the dog in the cage and say goodbye…

This part of the movie was near the very beginning.  This poor little boy had been holding onto these feelings for the entire movie.  He finally let them out.

Keegan is my sensitive little guy.

I’ve posted before about how he is my tough one.  How he’ll beat up on Eli given half a chance.

But I’ve never shared how emotionally sensitive he can be.

If I cry, he cries.  If I get upset with Eli about something or if Eli is having a bad day and he cries, Keegan cries.

Keegan will not watch the movie Iron Giant again because it made him cry.  It’s a really great movie with a good message.  But it breaks his heart when the giant sacrifices himself for the boy and the world.

The hardest part about this is how he cries.

When he’s mad he just wails.  I know that cry.

When he’s sad and emotionally upset he gets very quiet.  He looks at me and his eyes fill with tears.  The corners of his mouth turn down.  The tears spill over.  I instantly want to fix whatever is wrong because I know that whatever it is has taken control of his little heart.

On those days when he is being a boy, and thus, being a pain I look back to these moments.  I realize that he’ll grow up to be somebody special because he really does care.

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Feelings

  1. Mrs.Mayhem says:

    Poor little boy! Your description of his tears is heartbreaking.

    We saw Cats & Dogs at the theater, but I don’t remember that part of the movie. Sometimes I am surprised at how sad or scary kids’ movies can be.

  2. Elastamom says:

    He is such a sweetheart.

Leave a Reply

