And The Thunder Rolls

As I snuggled with my boys on the couch this evening watching Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, I began to see flashes of bright light out our back windows.  At first I thought it was just my eyes or something from the TV reflecting off the patio doors.  Then the light got brighter and the rumbling of thunder echoed through the sky.

My heart swelled with the longings of spring.  The pitter patter of rain on the windows, the rumbles rattling the glass, the smell in the air.  The temperature beginning to inch its way up the thermometer.

Suddenly there was a tugging, pulling and squeezing of my left arm. 

Mommy, what was that blue light??

It’s just some lightening, no big deal buddy.

We need to turn off the TV.  We’re going to have an electrical fire.

We’ll be ok, sweetie.

Then, as if on cue, a bright flash of blue immediately followed by loud clap of thunder.  That same little person just about jumped into my lap.

Mommy, we’re not safe.  There’s going to be a fire.  We have to turn off the TV now.  Why does there have to be lightning?

We had a lengthy conversation about circuit breakers and how they work.  We discussed surge protectors.  We talked about the rarity of lightning strikes.  And then we discussed the fires.

Fire has been the worry on his mind as of late.  He recently figured out that it would be hard for him to get out of the house if there was a fire and he was in his room and the fire was blocking the stairs.  We’ve discussed other ways to get out.  We’ve shared that it would be better to break a body part than to get stuck in the fire.

Enter the Worry Doctor…

She and Eli have already had discussions about fires.  The wizard and the dragon have role played fires.  He has colored pictures.  It was looking a little better for him.

Until tonight.

So, this is OUR test.  He has no visit with the worry doctor until next week.  Due to tight schedules she couldn’t fit us in this week.  We felt it appropriate to attempt to make it two weeks between appointments.  Eli has been making such great progress that we want to give him, and our family, a chance to overcome some of these worries on our own.

So, we’re pulling out our tool box.  We’re opening every single tray, just in case.  We’re diving in head first and hoping for the best.

Focus in our house is being taken off of fires and being redirected toward spring.  We’ll start talking about flowers – Eli loves to dig in the garden and plant with me.  We’ll make plans for the garden we’ll plant this spring.  We’ll pray to the warm weather gods to hurry to us so that we can have a lovely trip to the middle of our country for spring break.  (Yes, I know…  Normal people go someplace warm for spring break.  We go to Minnesota and Iowa.  But, no one ever called us normal!).

Hopefully spring is beginning to bless your part of the country as well.  Enjoy the smells and the sounds of rain.  And, please, take a moment to send my sweet boy a positive thought when lightning illuminates your sky.

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to And The Thunder Rolls

  1. Debbi Henry says:

    Ahh, spring. It sounds so lovely…
    Sending Eli very good thoughts!

  2. Hey, I’m with Eli–thunder and lightning ARE scary! Hope thoughts of flowers and spring will ease his little heart. xo

  3. Elastamom says:

    It was pretty scary…especially since we’re so used to the quiet snow lately! And I can’t freaking wait for spring.

  4. Mrs.Mayhem says:

    Thunder and lighting are pretty scary sometimes.

    As for the worries about fire, you can buy a ladder that unrolls and hangs from the window frame. Maybe it would be reassuring to keep it inside his closet, just in case he were to ever need it. Maybe it would ease some of his worry to have a plan?

  5. I remember those times with my children. What a sense of responsibility he feels for his family! I was always touched by this:

    “Dear Lord, be good to me
    the sea is so wide
    and my boat is so small.”

    Irish Fisherman’s Prayer

Leave a Reply

