Update

This is my beautiful niece.

Her step-father has been allowed to return home.

The military has stepped in with their family advocates and Child Protective Services has closed.

Her step-father is supposed to be going through anger management classes.

Her mother and step-father are to go through parenting classes.

Her abuse was substantiated, yet she remains.

It was found that she was targeted because she is not HIS child, yet she remains.

The system has failed.

My brother is attempting to find ways to fight the system and gain custody of his daughter.

The issue?  $$$$$  And, the law doesn’t support single dads all that well.

So please continue to send positive thoughts their way.  My brother is struggling knowing that this man is back living with his daughter.  My brother is in pain knowing he doesn’t have the money to fight this.

My brother has taken a HUGE step in growing up.  He has become the father I hoped he would be.  He is fighting for his daughter’s rights – and his own.

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Update

  1. Kate says:

    Oh, Heather, my prayers are with that sweet little girl. Justice is too slow.

  2. Elastamom says:

    See? The country is going to crap! This is so ridiculous I can’t even fathom it. Prayers!

  3. akbutler says:

    That totally sucks and is so wrong. I hope it shapes up the way it’s supposed to.

  4. Mrs.Mayhem says:

    That is a horrifying situation. Your brother must be going out of his mind with worry. Strength to all of you.

  5. I know EXACTLY what it takes to see a Dad fight for his kids when abuse has been substantiated. I know I’m just someone over the internet but if he or you have any questions about the process or what we went through, email me. We fought for custody of my husband two kids (we live in IN and DCS and court was all out of MO)…and we won. It was a long, hard and expensive fight but it was so worth knowing that the kids are now safe and cared for properly.

    First word of advice – find a kickass lawyer. We phone-interviewed 3 (because, again, we are in a different state) and we ended up picking our lawyer because he said the f**k. We knew he would fight for us every step of the way….and he did.

    Good luck to your brother!

Leave a Reply

