Finally!!!

I have to start this post by saying that I suck as a mom.

No, really I do.

I took the time to post it on Facebook, but I never wrote about it here.  And really, it should have been here first.  It was that big.

But, we were out of town.  There were other events that needed to be put here.  The draft of this post just got pushed further and further to the bottom of the queue.

So, finally, today I get to announce this.

It’s so incredibly exciting.  A moment that we’ve been waiting for a long time in this house.

Yep, that’s a big, empty space in Eli’s mouth!!!

Oh how he longed for this.  First my nephew Dominik lost his front teeth.  That was ok because he’s older.  Then my nephew Caleb lost his front teeth.  That was NOT ok because he’s younger.  We were so worried that Keegan would lose a tooth before Eli.  That would have been close to Armageddon in this house!

But, on 1/28 I sent my growing boy to school with a Ziploc bag in his snack bag, just in case.  His friend “T” told him it was ready to come out.  His friend “T” told him to grab a tissue and just pull it.  And he did.

He didn’t get upset about the blood – we’d been talking about that.  He was too excited for it to be gone to worry about the germs from the tooth (that’s a new thing around here…).  And, best of all, he got to show his cousin the hole in his mouth because we went to Indy that afternoon.

So, now I can go to bed tonight guilt free.  I finally shared with the blogosphere that my baby lost his first tooth.

The second one is loose.  So, if you see the tooth fairy tell her she’ll be needing to take out another loan soon in exchange for that tiny, white tooth.  I want to wonder what she’ll do with it but I’m afraid of the nightmares that will likely come my way…

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Finally!!!

  1. Debbi Henry says:

    That was perfect timing so he could show his cousin!!

  2. Congratulations to Eli! Sounds like the tooth fairy might need to be ever-ready at your house for the next few years.

    I have read back through some of your older posts and love the way you express yourself. Have five grandsons–I know my daughters must have some of the same issues.

    • Yes, the money stash for the tooth fairy is gonna have to be padded a little in the upcoming days/weeks/months!

      Thanks so much for your kind words. Tell your daughters to stop by anytime. I’ve kept some of my sanity with my boys by keeping other moms of boys close at hand! We truly act as crutches for each other on those crazy boy days!

  3. Mrs.Mayhem says:

    Congrats to Eli for losing his first tooth! That is such a huge deal! I bet that Keegan can’t wait to lose one of his, too.

Leave a Reply

