Someone Listened

My phone rang at 8:35 this morning.  I missed the call because I was busy parking my car.

My phone rang at 8:45.  My FIL – “did you get a message from Eli’s school?  They need your permission for something.  You need to call them.”

How HE got a message I’ll never know.  But I immediately returned the call to the school.  The secretary stated that Eli’s teacher was trying to reach me.  She put me through to the classroom and I got voicemail.  I left a message.

At 8:55 my phone rang.  Eli’s teacher was calling me back.  A conversation was had between the principal, the school psychologist and his teacher about moving things along for Eli.  A conversation was had with the school’s occupational therapist.  Rules were “bent” a little and Eli was evaluated by the OT today and will begin receiving some services 2x/day to meet his sensory needs and there will be some consults in the classroom to address his fine motor and visual perception concerns.  A meeting with the Intervention Assistance Team will be scheduled for Wednesday or Thursday afternoon next week.  Steps have been taken to insure that if Eli is evaluated for an IEP and is found eligible that services can begin immediately.

I was not surprised by the phone call after the email I sent yesterday.  Eli’s teacher shared with me that she is as frustrated as we are.  She wants this to move as quickly as possible so that he can get services.

Still there will be struggles.  When Eli’s teacher approached the school psychologist this morning about my email it sounded as though she was put off by our requests.  She looked at his teacher and asked her what it was he really needed – would he really qualify.  She seems to continue to fight against this process for him.  Fortunately Eli’s teacher had a list of things she wanted to see happen for him and she spouted those off quickly.

Eli has been incredibly fortunate to have been so very blessed by the amazing teachers he has been with in his very young school career.  They see the potential in him and want to make sure that potential is brought to the surface so that he may succeed.

We are far from the top of the roller coaster that is yet to come.  I can hear the ticking and clicking of the train of cars as it moves slowly up the track.  My hope is that next week we reach the summit and start the quick, winding movements downward toward obtaining a better support system for Eli so that he may more accurately show us all that he knows.

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Someone Listened

  1. Elastamom says:

    At least the teacher is on it and on your side!!

Leave a Reply

