Building My Village

So the race is on…

I posted in December about meeting with Eli’s teacher and the Intervention Assistance Team.  I allowed for the next meeting to be put off until the end of February so that we could get some more answers before meeting again.  We did leave it that we could meet sooner if some of those answers came up.

I emailed Eli’s teacher a couple of weeks ago to see about meeting at the end of January to discuss having him evaluated for services based on testing that his OT did at the end of December and notes from the psychologist.  His teacher replied that she forwarded my email to the school psychologist and that she was working on scheduling it.

This is the LAST week of January and I have yet to hear anything from the school psychologist.  Now you’ve ruffled this mommy’s feathers.

I emailed Eli’s teacher again today noting timelines that I am familiar with based on IDEA.  I again requested a meeting this week or next.

And then I started making phone calls and sending out emails.

Last year when Eli was evaluated I made some mistakes.  The worst of which was me agreeing with the ETR when I really was completely against the results.  I don’t intend to make mistakes again this year.

I have been in touch with my dear friend who is an amazing parent advocate.  I will chat with him prior to any meeting to make sure that I have a full understanding of Eli’s rights.

I have sent an email to my friend’s daughter who is a school psychologist in another state.  She was appalled by the way our meeting in December went and wanted to give me some guidance on what our rights are from the school perspective.

I’ve talked with Eli’s occupational therapist about his recent testing and am getting copies of his reports.

We meet with the worry doctor this week and I hope to get some progress information from her.

It takes a village to raise a child, or in our case support a child.

I’m building the best village I can in the hopes of getting my awesome little guy what he needs in order for him to show us all that he knows.

**As a side note to this post I have to share the most amazing thing that happened tonight.

Eli had a good day after a rough morning where he was awake by 4:45am and didn’t go back to sleep.  While getting ready for bed he whispered in my ear that he wanted to talk.  We finished our bedtime routine and we went in his room where he asked to close the door.  We talked for about 15 minutes about something at school that was bothering him.  He asked that I share his concerns with his teacher.  I asked if I could also tell mama and he agreed.

I hugged him tight and so did my honey.  We told him how proud we were that he shared a worry with us.  He smiled and noted that it did make him feel better.

I emailed his teacher as I promised I would so that if when he asks her about it tomorrow she is aware of what we discussed.

It was a major breakthrough for him – and for us.  My hope is that this is only the beginning of things to come.

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Building My Village

  1. Debbi Henry says:

    Sadly it takes feathers being ruffled and laws being quoted before getting some results. Good job doing that and keep up the good work.

  2. Mrs.Mayhem says:

    Luckily, even if you made mistakes last year, you can try to rectify them at the next meeting. Absolutely don’t sign anything if you don’t agree with the plan. (I’ve suffered through many IEP meetings with my son.) It is difficult to stand up to the school (they’re very persuasive), but it is your right. Good luck with the meeting.

  3. Elastamom says:

    You go, Mama Bear, you go!!!

  4. Debbi Henry says:

    Heather, I gave you an award on my blog today!

Leave a Reply

