I’m Craving Some Cheese With My Whine

This weekend we hit rock bottom.  Maybe a layer or two below rock bottom.

I haven’t taken the time to check the calendar or anything, but if there was a full moon this weekend I wouldn’t be surprised.

Eli was on sensory overload.  I’m not exactly sure why.  Could have been that he was coming down off his anxiety from Friday.

Apparently Friday morning there was a substitute bus driver who stopped in front of our house to pick Eli up but was requiring him to cross the street to get on the bus.  Eli always get’s on the bus when the doors are facing him.  Add to it that the school had a very large, very important assembly at the beginning of the school year telling children of the dangers of crossing the street for the bus because a young girl was killed near their school last year when an oncoming driver failed to stop for the girl to cross.  Needless to say he was terrified.  Good thing Nana was there to explain to the bus driver what needed to happen and that the bus driver understood and turned around and picked him up like normal.  Add to it that he had a substitute teacher for part of the day AND his mommy forgot to send a note to school to let his teacher know that he’d be getting picked up instead of riding the bus home so that said mommy got a call from the secretary because he was upset about not having a note.  I’m guessing Friday pretty much spelled out disaster for the remainder of his weekend.

Anyway…  Pair a child on sensory overload with a child who for some unknown reason has decided to suddenly stop sleeping through the night and you have a mommy who wants to lock herself in the closet with a bottle of wine.  (I considered deleting that last part of the sentence but thought better of it because I know y’all have been there!)

Keegan decided to get up at some ungodly hour on Saturday morning.  He crawled into my bed and I let him.  **side note – I crashed Friday night at a little after 8pm out of pure emotional and physical exhaustion so when Keegan came in I’d had about 6 or 7 hours of sleep already and thought morning was much closer than it was**  He proceeded to toss and turn and cry out and talk until finally I carried him back into his room and layed down with him there.  He stayed asleep and slept well until morning.  But the damage was already done.

Keegan spent much of Saturday whining and crying about pretty much everything that happened.  And, because he was overtired, got as wired up as Eli was.  Now I had 2 kids on sensory overload on my hands just feeding on each other.  It made me count my blessings that 98% of our days are not like this.  That typically we’re focusing on Eli’s sensory needs and Keegan remains pretty status quo.  It made me want to hug all of you that do this daily with more than one child.  I don’t know how you do it but I’m glad your children have each of you!

Keegan did get a short nap in on Saturday afternoon but nature called and he awoke much too early to go to the bathroom.  That tiny bit of sleep made him more whiney – if that’s possible!  It was a struggle to make it to bedtime.  When we finally did we hoped for better sleep for him so that he was not quite so miserable the next day.

Again, he didn’t sleep.  This time he was up 4 times to be tucked back in.  The last time was around 6:15ish and he never fell back to sleep.  Because of all the interruptions and the early awakening he was more whiney than the day before.  He was miserable and so were we.

So we struggled again to get through this day.  Finally, at 11:45 I made him lay down for a nap.  He swore he didn’t need to but I told him there was no way he could go swimming until he got more rest.  It took no more coaxing than that.  Within 15 minutes he was sound asleep and slept for more than 2 hours.  And when he woke up my sweet little boy had returned.  There was a smile on his face and a newfound sparkle in his eyes.

So we swam.  My little boys are turning into such little fish.  It’s so fun to watch them.

Eli still struggled for the remainder of the day.  Finally we made him go to his room.  He was not in a time out but was in a time alone.  He was in his room for about 30 minutes while I made dinner.  When he came back down he was a much better, much calmer little boy.  Sometimes that’s what it takes for him.  He just needs that time alone to find his zen again, or something.

For now they both sleep.  I hope for everyone’s sake that the sleep is good.  Eli wanted more than just his weighted blanket on him tonight – in fact he didn’t even seem to notice when my honey put it on him.  That tells me how out of sync his body has been this entire weekend.

This week puts him back in therapy and back to the worry doctor.  We’ll be certain to tell her about the bus incident.  And this week ends with a trip to Indianapolis for my nephew’s birthday party.  That’s likely to bring some anxiety and impair sensory processing.  But, after this weekend, I feel equipped to handle most anything!

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in SPD, The Boys. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to I’m Craving Some Cheese With My Whine

  1. Well, the full moon was on Wed. the 19th, so it was still pretty full this weekend! Not that it helps any to know that.

    I sit here, rockin’ my 90 year-old hooker look, after being up every half hour all night with a sick Miss M. I’ll bring my bottle of wine over and you grab yours and lets lock the door, okay? Oh, wait. I’m still on Pellegrino. Damn.

    ((you))

  2. Elastamom says:

    I think we’re all just a wee bit stir crazy…don’t you? We were all a little off this weekend. And if Kitch is coming, I’m coming too!!!!

  3. Patty says:

    Wow, what a weekend! I’m so glad the kids at least got some sleep. Sometimes that is the most important thing for my kids….Here’s hoping that this week goes better than the weekend!

  4. Mrs.Mayhem says:

    Thank goodness for Nana explaining everything to the bus driver.

    And, yeah, we’ve all been there, ie. the wine and the locked door.

Leave a Reply

