Looking Up

I am the oldest child.

The first-born.

I have a younger sister and brother.

We weren’t close growing up but we grew closer as we got older.

We were each independent but relied on each other for support.

Being the oldest I guess I set the standard.

I never asked my siblings if they looked up to me.  I can’t ask my sister now.  I’m sure if I asked my brother he would say yes.

My boys are 18 months and 6 days apart in age.

They go back and forth in their love/hate relationship.

Could they live without each other?  Most days the answer is absolutely not!

Eli started bringing home books this week to read to us as part of his homework.  He has 4 books that he has to read every day.  It warms my heart more than I can say to hear him read the words on the page in front of him.

Then along comes little brother.  He wants so badly to do the cool things that Eli does.  His favorite thing this week was to realize that he is reading the same book in preschool that Eli is reading in kindergarten.

This week he has started wanting to read the same bedtime story every night.  We read Llama Llama Misses Mama by Anna Dewdney.  If you’re not familiar with the Llama Llama series you have to check it out!  We have the CD that goes with this book – remember when the read-a-longs came on 45’s???  Wow did I just age myself!  Anyway, we alternate nights of me reading the book with him filling in some blanks and the two of us reading along with the CD.  Last night he told me how proud he was of himself for reading the Llama Llama book.

I’m learning the words mommy!  It’s just like I’m reading.  I’ll get to sit on the couch and read with you too!

My heart was warmed all over again.  We’ve read to the boys from the time each of them was conceived.  They’ve always had access to books.  We practically have a library in our basement.  To hear that Keegan wants to be like his big brother and snuggle with me on the couch to read to me is just amazing.  And I truly can’t wait for the day that it happens.

You keep looking up to that big brother of yours my love.  He will take you far!

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Looking Up

  1. Mrs.Mayhem says:

    Learning to read is a huge accomplishment. How proud you must feel of both of your wonderful boys!

  2. Debbi Henry says:

    That is a cute story and the cutest picture ever! I love how Keegan is looking at Eli!!

  3. Elastamom says:

    That’s a perfect story to sum up the relationship!!!

  4. Kate says:

    Reading is amazing! Seeing my girl get it is just thrilling, and seeing the sibling bond growing is cute. With almost four years between mine, it’s much more mimicry and less substance.

Leave a Reply

