L-A-Z-Y

That’s how you fix a hellacious day like yesterday!

I truly mean no disrespect to Dr. Martin Luther King when I say that this “extra” day off couldn’t come at a better time.

It was me and the boys all day.

We were each pretty equally tired from a terribly sleepless night – I neglected to mention in my last post that Keegan was up much of the night with nightmares.  I must say that it never ceases to amaze me how children deal with lack of sleep so very differently than adults!

We lazed in our jammies for much of the early morning.  They boys played with various Lego toys and I putzed on the computer.  They both finally decided they were hungry so we moved to the kitchen for a half-assed breakfast.  Ordinarily on a day off I would have made them some sort of special breakfast.  Today?  Cereal from a box.  We enjoyed it together and everyone was happy.

We returned to the living room and continued with our various play activities.  I got some honey-do’s done that my honey has been hounding asking me to do for a couple of weeks.  The boys went to their rooms to play because I was “being way to noisy!”

They helped me put away laundry next so that we could bust open a hodge-podge bag of Legos that I bought at Once Upon A Child.  After the bag was open and the pieces were sorted both boys disappeared to their rooms again.  They came down fully dressed and in non-comfy clothes!  Even Keegan, with his usual anti-jeans campaign, was dressed in khaki’s!  I just had to give them a hard time for ruining my jammies only rule for the day!  They retaliated by giving me a hard time for still being in my jammies.

The clothes didn’t change the ambience of the day.  We vowed not to leave the house and not to do anything that required a lot of work.  The basic household chores got done by working together.  We didn’t turn the TV on until almost 2pm.  When we did, we snuggled together on the couch.  We ate ice cream sundaes for snack.

No one was whiney.  Eli was calm.  There was no incessant talking, no emotional meltdowns, no loud voices.  We read books together, we laughed together, we played together.

I am thankful for Dr. King for so many reasons.  The most important to me today was that I was given the freedom to spend an extra day with my boys that we all desperately needed.  We found our PEACE today and soaked it all in.  It was a beautiful way to end our extended weekend.

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to L-A-Z-Y

  1. Debbi Henry says:

    Your day sounds amazing!!!! I’m so glad you were able to have a lazy, relaxing day!

Leave a Reply

