Getting Back to Routine

I’ll be the first to admit that I got lazy over the holidays.

I mean REALLY lazy!

For the most part my laziness didn’t affect anything in my day-to-day life.

But, there was a very important area that did become affected and I didn’t realize it until last night.

We got in a really bad habit of letting the boys hang out on the couch to watch a movie or TV show before bed and then rush them upstairs to quickly brush teeth and get jammies on and get in bed at the right time.  I’m certain that most of you can guess that this often resulted in a lot of fussing, whining and yelling (mainly on my part) before bed.

I HATE yelling at my kids.  I try not to do it.  It still happens.  But, I especially hate it when it happens at bed time.  Nothing quite says love like yelling sweet dreams at the top of your lungs and stomping out of the room (insert sarcasm font here!).

Last night was another one of those yelling nights.  At the end of it Keegan called me into his room crying.  He said he just wished that we could have snuggle bedtimes like we used to.  He may as well have slapped me in the face.

Talk about feeling like shit!

So tonight?  Tonight was different.  The boys got to watch a little of their movie after dinner and I diligently watched the clock.  I gave them a countdown until it was time to go upstairs.  They went up willingly and got into the shower – where they were very excited because they got to shower by themselves and do all of the washing of their bodies themselves.  Then after jammies were donned we climbed into beds and snuggled while reading books.  During the middle of book #2 Keegan crawled under his covers and snuggled down like he was going to sleep.  Afterward we said prayers and gave hugs and kisses goodnight.  The boys were asleep within minutes of lights out.

Sometimes I need that reminder of what a routine really does for all of us.  I’m excited that we got back into ours for bedtime.  I suspect the boys will sleep much better tonight, as will I.  Just one step closer to that Peace I’m craving.

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Getting Back to Routine

  1. Debbi Henry says:

    I’m glad you all had a much better night last night!!

  2. Mrs.Mayhem says:

    Bedtime is a tough time of day. I think every parent has reached frustration while trying to get the kids to do what needs to get done. It’s wonderful that your son told you that he wanted more snuggle time!

  3. Elastamom says:

    Routine = sanity!!!

Leave a Reply

