Looking for the Happy

The psychology appointment was today.

I couldn’t be there because I had a doctor appointment of my own.

A good friend picked Keegan up from school and let him play happily instead of be bored a various doctor appointments.

I sent a text to my honey to give Eli a hug and kiss for me and to tell him it would be ok.

I later got a text from her that said that Eli told the doctor he thought he was there because he misbehaves at home.

My heart fell to my stomach and my eyes filled with tears.  I immediately felt so very guilty.  What did I do to make him think that?

I felt for my honey.  She was sitting in the waiting room of the doctor’s office all alone with this knowledge.

I had the good fortune of picking up Keegan and being able to share this with my friend.  Just talking about it made it better.  So I send a thanks out to you Tiff.  You did so much more than take care of Keegan for an extra little bit today.  You took care of me too!

I got to spend some enjoyable time with Keegan – just the two of us.  We were grocery shopping, but HE got to push the cart, HE got to look at the things he wanted to, HE got to ride the penny pony at the end.  It was a great reminder that you don’t have to go somewhere special to do something special.  We truly enjoyed our little bit of time together.

It made my heart feel better to hear Eli say that he liked the doctor and that he was ok to go back next week.  We talked when I got home.  My honey and I both worked to make sure he knew that his behavior was NOT the reason that he was going to see her.  We also worked hard to let him know that he can tell the doctor ANYTHING and he wouldn’t have to share that with us.

This is going to be hard for all of us.  Eli needs to be trusting of us.  We need to be as supportive as we possibly can of him.  And somewhere in the mix we need to remind Keegan that he’s special.

So, we’ll continue to trudge up this mountain that has 2011 written all over it.  Elastamom shared this post about 2011.  My word this year? PEACE.  I hope that we will move up this mountain to the best of our abilities and find peace when we reach the summit.  Peace for Eli’s mind.  Peace for all of our souls.  As much peace as possible in the lives we lead.

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Looking for the Happy

  1. Elastamom says:

    I am always happy to help…Keegan’s like one of the family now! I’m glad we had a chance to chat…I always love catching up with you in person. Peace is coming my friend…I can feel it.

  2. Love to you and your family–and boy, are you lucky to have a friend like Tiff in your corner. Give Keegan and Eli an extra hug from me today.

  3. Mrs.Mayhem says:

    It’s wonderful that you were able to talk about your feelings and get support from a good friend. Wishing you and your family lots of peace in this new year.

  4. Patty says:

    Oh, wow, that had to be hard!

    I do know what you mean about spending special time with each of your children. My two older kids love it when I take them somewhere by themselves. Sometimes my 7 yo son will even come grocery shopping with me, if he gets me all to himself. It’s fun. I am trying to make more time for that kind of thing this year. It makes everyone happy, so it’s important.

Leave a Reply

