Back to the Drawing Board

I started my last day of 2010 by taking Eli to see his OT.  She wanted to get some baseline testing done with him.  This was for her benefit as well as for the benefit of the school and Eli’s psychologist.

Wow…  That’s still really hard to type.  My son has a psychologist…

I dropped him off and went to run a few errands.  When I returned he was just finishing up.  I sat down with the OT for her to tell me some of what she saw.

She shared that she’d have to score the test before she could give me any final information – and she still needed to finish one section of the test.  But…

We are officially back to square one with his perceptual motor development.  He is unable to visually track without moving his head.  He is unable to stand on one leg with his eyes closed.  He is unable to touch his thumb to each finger without really focusing on it and making it look like a task.  He is unable to touch his finger to his nose with his eyes closed.

Sure, the other concerns that we have always had are still there.  But, now there are new concerns – things that somehow slipped past all of us.

We stopped doing one on one OT with him last spring because other activities got in the way.  And, the OT and I felt that group activities were more what he needed.  I certainly don’t regret the decision that we made.  He definitely benefited from the group activities and from the other events that he participated in over the summer.  However, it’s time to get back to work.

Eli’s OT is planning to look for room in her schedule to fit him in for the one on one.  We will be back to weekly therapy with his OT and now we will add weekly therapy with his psychologist.

On the plus side, we ended 2010 as I’d hoped, with my BIL and my nephew.  We are at the end of day 2 with them and it has been truly amazing.  I will certainly share it with you all.  Suffice to say that my sister has been here this weekend too.  I can see her in my nephew’s eyes and in his smile.  He is truly a gift from heaven.

Happy 2011 everyone.  My love and thoughts are with you all for a delightful year this year!

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Back to the Drawing Board

  1. (((you))) and to Eli. This could be completely a stupid question, since I’ve come late to this whole diagnosis party, but has Eli seen a neurologist? A lot of the symptoms you describe seem neurological. I should know–I can’t stand on one foot, either, so tell Eli that he’s got company in that department! We can hang out together, both feet firmly on the ground.

    Let me know if there’s anything I can do for you. Love you.

    • Thanks Kitch. He hasn’t seen a neurologist yet. We’re going to try some stuff from a therapy standpoint first and go from there. You may have come late to the party but at least you’re here. Missed having you around! I promise to find you if I need a shoulder to cry on 🙂

  2. Kate says:

    When I learned development at school, it seemed so straight forward, so linear. Seeing my ‘normal’ kids go through it, it feels anything but. Skills are gained and lost, only to be regained more strongly. I hope you know how amazingly gracefully you are parenting through what cannot be easy. Wow!

    • thanks Kate. I don’t feel very graceful on the inside. I’m really just waiting for the bottom to drop out. Right now I just have to be strong for my son. I can have my breakdown later and then work on getting my own shrink 😉

  3. Patty says:

    That’s tough. I feel like we are in somewhat the same boat. Our OT is three hours away so we see her only every other month or so. She gives us therapy exercises to do at home and we try to do them as regularly as possible. It seems like every so often, we discover new problems we hadn’t addressed before. It’s kind of frustrating and overwhelming. I just hope we can help him as much as possible.

    Good luck!

Leave a Reply

