A Salute to the SAHM’s

Every year around this time I have the good fortune of having a couple of weeks off work.  The organization I work for shuts down between Christmas and New Year’s.  I let my vacation time build and I take days off before Christmas and/or after New Year’s so that I can have a full 2 weeks off of work to spend with my family.  It’s especially nice now that I have kids in school.  I get to spend extra time with them while their home.

I sit here now with 4 days remaining of my vacation.  I’ve enjoyed being home with my boys but I’m starting to get that itch to go back to work.  I am on my boy’s nerves and they are on mine.  They are also on each others.

I give a shout out to all of you who do this every single day.  You are my heroes!

Let me start by saying I don’t know how you get a damn thing done!  I am incredibly lazy when I don’t have structure.  There’s no one telling me when the dishes/laundry/grocery shopping/etc. needs to be done so I don’t do it for several days.  I even have to remind myself to take a shower!  Add to it that I have 2 lovely little creatures under my feet undoing every single thing I do!

I wonder when you find “you” time.  I put my boys and my honey in bed around 8pm everyday so I get some alone time between then and whenever my eyes are finally drifting so closed that I can no longer focus on the computer or tv.  In my work career, my “me” time is when I go to work.  That’s when I get to be the part of me that’s NOT a mommy.  When do you get that time?  Without that I’m not sure I could survive!

I have always had respect for the SAHM.  I am sometimes jealous of your ability to be a caregiver to your children 24/7.  I certainly recognize that you work harder during that 24/7 than I could ever dream of working in my 8 hours a day/5 days a week.  Over the course of the past 12 days I have been reminded of how truly amazing your job is and how incredibly difficult it is.

You are amazing people!!!  I have no award, no honors to bestow.  Just know that I send each of you the biggest ocean wave hug and the utmost respect.

You Rock!!!

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Salute to the SAHM’s

  1. Debbi Henry says:

    Thanks! I have all the respect for the moms who work! I really don’t know how I would do it, if I had to get to work. So many days I am up during the night with Gracie and I think how lucky I am that I don’t have to go to work and try to be productive.

    I used to really stress over the messes and getting stuff done, but I have learned to let some of that go. I get very grumpy when what I just cleaned is undone, but I decided I don’t want to be grumpy all the time. I do my best to get the house cleaned up daily, but if it doesn’t get done I don’t stress over it like I used to. This drives my mother nuts and she has to do my dishes and sweep my floor every time she comes over. She knows Gracie keeps me busy and how quickly Gracie can undo what I clean, so she is just trying to help.

    Let’s face it, just being a mother is plain hard!

  2. Kate says:

    Any way you do it, mothering is a big job.

    I like my choice, but miss me time. Especially during seasons of interrupted sleep.

  3. Jaimee says:

    I’m a SAHM. Like any other job, there are good days and bad. It’s different when my boys are on school break and HOME all day. My monkeys have been home for 12 days and still have another 5 to go before school is back in session – add in the excitement of the holiday, fevers and coughs, grandparents visiting, and a special needs child who is VERY out of sorts… I don’t feel like an awesome, productive mom at the moment LOL.

  4. Mrs.Mayhem says:

    I wish my husband felt the same way! Just kidding… a little.

    As a SAHM mom, I just wanted to say thank you for the kind words.

    I don’t know how working mothers can manage to balance everything. How are there enough hours in the day to accomplish everything that needs to be accomplished?! How are working mothers able to be successful at work and at home, and still find time to pay bills and clean the house?! I’m in awe of mothers who work.

    So really, you are the one who rocks!

Leave a Reply

