Oh What Fun

Christmas was a little wild around our house.  My honey caught the dreaded flu the night before Christmas Eve.  She spent all of Christmas Eve in bed.

The boys and I survived by baking the gingerbread cookies that needed baking so that Santa would have something to eat at our house.  We made puppy chow and we made dessert for Christmas Eve night.  We traveled to Nana and Papa’s to return the Buckeye’s that we dipped for them that morning as well.  We ran a few errands around town to prepare completely for the holiday weekend.

We returned home in time to give the boys a nap/quiet time and to give me a much-needed bath.  I braved church alone with the boys.  They were angels.  It certainly helped that we were in the balcony – standing room only – and Eli was standing against the wall overlooking the floor below.  He was able to hang on it and squish himself between it and the adjoining wall.  It was great for meeting his sensory needs!

We returned home to open Christmas jammies from Grandma Mary.  It’s tradition here that the boys get to open one gift each on Christmas Eve and it’s always new pajamas to wear that night.  They’ve finally figured out that it’s not a “cool” gift but they don’t complain because they at least get to open a gift!

We grabbed our dessert, our gifts for our family, and our new jammies and headed off to our Christmas Eve celebration at my honey’s cousin’s house.  On the way there the boys were certain that they saw Santa’s airplane sleigh flying through the sky.  They were worried that we should go back home.  I told them the southbound airplane sleigh was headed to Canada so we still had time.  They were cool with that.

We spent the remainder of the evening with family that we only see a couple of times each year, though we all live within 30 minutes of each other.  The boys played fabulously with their cousins and really enjoyed themselves.  It wasn’t until after gifts were exchanged that Eli finally felt the need to find a quiet spot where no one would bother him.  That was my cue that it was time to pack up and head back home.

The boys chattered for the first 10 minutes of the drive and then I was alone with my Christmas music as the boys drifted off to Christmas dreamland.  I carried them up to their rooms and kissed them sweet dreams.  I checked on my honey and she decided to get up and “oversee” the final wrapping of the gifts.  Santa does always need a helper!

Christmas morning Eli awoke at 4:15am all excited that Santa had left a present under the little tree in his room.  I got excited with him but shared that perhaps he heard Santa and that’s what woke him.  It’s possible Santa wasn’t done yet and we should go back to sleep.  Thankfully he bought it and we were in the clear until 7:30!

We headed downstairs to find that Santa had indeed finished his job and brought presents to my good little boys.  Eli was all a grin with his special present from Santa – sleigh bells from his sleigh!  Six bells (because he’s six) on a leather strap that, per Eli, smelled like carrots because the reindeer eat carrots, directly from Santa’s sleigh!

No other gift quite topped that one!  The boys got a boat load of Legos from Santa and us.  I put together 8 sets between Christmas Day and the day after.  The word LEGO will be forever imprinted on my thumbs!!

We spent an overwhelming day of fun with family coming to our house and opening more presents.  By the end of the day Eli was done again and hiding in the corner.  At least he’s learning how to cope when he gets overwhelmed.  He eventually came out of the corner and found some markers and colored at a table by himself.  It certainly seemed to make him feel better.

We worked hard to make things calm the past few days.  We’ve done a lot of reading, a lot of coloring and a lot of playing with our new Legos.  When needed we’ve done some occasional light saber wars.  The Wii has been great for helping get some of the wiggles out and some of the new movies we got for Christmas have made great focus for some much-needed quiet times.

Christmas has come but not quite gone around here.  We still have 2 celebrations to go.  My BIL and nephew will be in town this weekend and we will celebrate Christmas and New Year’s with them.  Keegan’s Godmother has been out-of-town so we will celebrate with her next weekend.  We are looking forward to the fun but excited to get back to “normal” around here!

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Oh What Fun

  1. Jaimee says:

    Love your sleigh bells from Santa idea!!

  2. Debbi Henry says:

    Okay, your boys are so precious I can’t even stand it! I love the picture of them in front of the tree, they look so grown up! I can’t believe that you were able to get Eli back to sleep!! Telling him Santa wasn’t done was brilliant!

    I’m happy to hear that you are having a great holiday!

  3. Your boys ARE so precious. Sounds like you guys have a wonderful time together. We spread out our celebrations too — Christmas comes whenever you have it, we say.

    So glad to have found your blog!

Leave a Reply

