The Best

This will be short because I have been in bed all day with the nasty stomach flu that’s going around.  My human self is slowly starting to emerge again but I still feel like a Mack truck ran me over!

I had to take a moment and say thanks to my amazing boys.  I complain about them from time to time here but they really are amazing!

My honey had to go into work today so that she could be off tomorrow for all of our appointments tomorrow.  I’d rather have her with me tomorrow but really missed her today.

That left me – the icky sicky one – to get Eli breakfast and ready for school and take care of Keegan and get him dressed and off to school.  My honey was sweet enough to call my FIL and ask him if he could drive Keegan to school.  Thank goodness he could because I probably would have killed us both getting him there.

Eli got himself dressed and made his own breakfast.  He was upset that mommy didn’t make his lunch for school and he hadn’t yet earned the chance to buy a lunch at school.  I reassured him that it was ok and that mommy was giving him a free day because he was such a big boy this morning.  After I told him that pizza was on the menu he agreed to buy:)  Then he was upset because I couldn’t walk him to the bus stop.  He wanted to give hugs and kisses before the bus came.  I reminded him that mommy couldn’t give hugs and kisses because I might get him sick.  So, he agreed that I could watch him from the driveway and blow him hugs and kisses until the bus comes.  So I propped myself weakly up against my car and blew as many hugs and kisses as my frail body would allow.

I returned into the house to tell Keegan that I was going to lay in my bed.  He was watching Playhouse Disney and playing with the dog so he was fine.  Not long after he joined me upstairs.  He realized I was watching what he was watching and he wanted to be near me.  So, he came back downstairs, gathered up a couple of toys and returned to my room where he played quietly, kissed my forehead and brought me water.  He stayed by my side until we went downstairs to get his lunch.  He was content with whatever I threw on the plate for him.  There were no complaints made.  He sat right next to me until papa came to get him for school.  He was sad when he returned home from school to find me still in my jammies.  He hoped I would be all better by then.

They both worried about their mommy today.  They both stepped up and were the amazing boys that I know they both are capable of being.  They took time to take care of me when they really didn’t have to.  It helped to add a warm glow to this super crappy day!

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Best

  1. Debbi Henry says:

    Awww, what sweet boys!
    I remember when I was sick and throwing up, Caleb came into the bathroom to pat me on the back, all the while he was gagging because it was grossing him out. But, he kept patting me!

  2. akbutler says:

    feel better soon! this is a nasty virus going all over the country! 150 kids were out in my older son’s school. He had it last week, and I have a bad feeling we’ll be getting it this weekend. I hope it’s gone from your house by Christmastime. Sounds like your boys took good care of you today!

Leave a Reply

