Full Coverage

I got the phone call today from the pediatric psychologist’s office today.  Let me rephrase that.  I got a phone call today from the pediatric psychologist.

Yes, the doctor herself called me.  Apparently the office cuts costs by not having a secretary – the doctors themselves do all their own scheduling and answer their own messages.  It added some of that personal touch that I needed.

Then the bad news.  The awesome psychologist that my friend recommended is booked – can’t get Eli in for at least a month and probably couldn’t see him ongoing.  But the good news…  Her colleague is available this week AND specializes in children ages 6-8 with anxiety.  It’s her passion.  Ok, have her call me!  The doctor hung up saying I’d hear back in another day or so.

5 minutes later my phone rang again.  No joke!  The OTHER doctor was on my phone telling me she could meet with my honey and I Wednesday night without Eli to discuss our concerns.  First she gets that he shouldn’t be present when we’re talking about him – it’ll only add to the anxiety.  Second, she was amazing on the phone.  Very personable, the type of personality that Eli usually quickly bonds with.  And, she gets anxiety.  I was hooked.

But, what about the cost…

I’m all about doing everything that I can for my son.  I would walk a country mile in bare feet and 15 inches of snow if it meant that either of my boys would get what they need.  But, money doesn’t grow on trees.

So, I called the insurance company who, let me tell you, was not at ALL personable.  They sternly reminded me that I needed to stay in network for any coverage to take place.  Well duh…  Then I asked about Mental Health coverage in general (I gotta side note here to say that asking about mental health coverage for my 6-year-old was an incredibly hard thing to do…  Just shows we don’t get to plan out the road we travel…).  They shared that it was a $15 copay then 100% coverage after that.

Ok, hold the phone…  These people pay 100% for 2 things in my life – mammograms and paps.  Both things that people just don’t like to talk about so they cover them.  The rest is covered when they feel like covering it and pay as much as they determine is appropriate.

But, mental health is covered 100%!!!

I guess the lesson here is don’t f&*@ with the crazy people!!!

So, big day Wednesday.  Intervention Assistance Team meeting in the morning and psychologist meeting in the evening.  In the middle my honey and I get to party with Eli in his class and just enjoy being his mommies.

I’m looking for the up right now in case I lose track of it after Wednesday.  The great thing is I know that you’ll all be there to remind me:)  You are MY full coverage – minus the copay!

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Full Coverage

  1. Mrs.Mayhem says:

    That’s awesome! It seems like fate that you are meeting with this doctor at this point in Eli’s life!

    Lucky, LUCKY about the insurance! My son’s hearing aids aren’t covered. He needs a new set approximately every 2-3 years. The last two pairs cost $7000 and $5000.

    • I was completely shocked by the insurance company since we pretty much pay out of pocket for his occupational therapy.
      Did you know most insurance companies see hearing aids as COSMETIC! It’s insane! I hate insurance most of the time!

  2. Debbi Henry says:

    Wow, that doctor sounds amazing! I’ll be thinking of you Wednesday and I’m sure it will all go well!

    Great news about the insurance!

Leave a Reply

