Christmas Came Early

We spent this past weekend in tiny little Adrian, Michigan.  We journey there every year about this time for a family reunion with my FIL’s family.  We gather at a hotel and party in the conference room.  We typically rent a room for the night and let the kids play in the hallways and swim in the pool.

In all years prior we have taken advantage of the playing in the hallways, but only minimally explored the swimming in the pool.  Eli would never move away from the steps that lead him into the water.  He always just sat on the lowest step he could that still kept him fully above the water and watched the other kids play.

I posted recently that the boys have been taking swimming lessons and that Eli was actually beginning to do some things.  He continued to want to stay near the wall but would try a few things.

This weekend all that changed.  This weekend we got this:

and this:

and it was amazing.

I smiled until my cheeks hurt.  My eyes watered with the utmost pride.  My heart, like the Grinch’s, grew AT LEAST 3 sizes!

A mommy couldn’t as for a better gift!!!

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Christmas Came Early

  1. Debbi Henry says:

    That’s awesome, he did a great job and has come so far!!

  2. Jaimee says:

    Yay Eli!! Our son made HUGE strides with swim lessons this summer, too. He blew us all away! Still screams in the shower, but he was diving under water to get coins off the bottom of the pool by the end of the summer. It’s amazing to see them succeed and grow in confidence, isn’t it?

  3. Elastamom says:

    Early Christmas indeed! Awesome!!!

  4. Kate says:

    Joy!

    You just gave me hope for my water-phobic girl.

  5. Pingback: Found A Place | Brotherly Love

Leave a Reply

