BOYS!!!

It’s Thursday.  Finally!

I can find a whole lotta craptastic around here like:

I’m getting a cold because I’m not sleeping a lot because I’m up late baking and shopping and working and when I do go to bed I’m exhausted and go straight to sleep but wake up in the wee hours with this stupid mindworm and the boys were insanely upset that swimming lessons were canceled today because of a swim meet at the pool they go to so they cried and fussed and fought to share their frustrations and the cookies I’m baking for the work cookie exchange look like dog poop and, and, and…

I could go on but I won’t.  Why?  Because Bad Mommy Moments and Momalom declared that Thursdays are all about finding the !!! in all that crazy craptastic.

I have two  boys.  Yes, that’s why the headline says Brotherly Love.  And they are two boys that teach me each and every day just what nature vs. nurture really means.

Their nana and papa are always looking out for them and giving them things to help them learn.  They, like us, recognize the value in gaining knowledge.  They are always looking for books that they boys will enjoy looking at.

Sometime ago they gave the boys the Children’s Book of Questions and Answers.  A great book for these two boys who love to read and learn.  And a great book for a mommy who has boys who like to ask lots of questions.  At least one would think that!

But one would be wrong…

I was making dinner in the kitchen the other night and began to hear an insane amount of giggling coming from the living room.  I was going to ignore it but it was that quality of giggling that makes a mom know that there is something not quite right going on in the other room.  I rounded the corner to see my boys looking at this: Yep, that’d be Playboy for kids.  It’s so comforting to know that they’re Y chromosome is kicking in even if they do live with 2 mommies!!!  This supposedly helpful book is so helpful in teaching about a specific method of photography that they must show nude photos to delight my growing boys.

In the end I couldn’t help but giggle myself.  I did encourage them to look at some of the other pages with more harmless pictures of, say, mountains, oceans, anything but that lovely picture.  I encouraged, but I suspect that there’s really only so much nurture can do to fight nature!!!

What made you !!! this week?

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to BOYS!!!

  1. Debbi Henry says:

    That’s hillarious!!!

  2. Mrs.Mayhem says:

    Boys will be boys, apparently. I love those conspiratorial giggles among my kids. What’s a little nudity when they’re bonding?!

Leave a Reply

