And So You’re Back From Outer Space

Yes we’re channeling Gloria Gaynor over here on Brotherly Love!

I feel like I just returned from some psychedelic planet where I was covered in goo and couldn’t get out.  But as the final paper was completed the space ship home landed to rescue me.  And I’m BACK!!!

I’ve missed you all so terribly much.  I’m still getting caught up on my reading.  So, if I haven’t commented in a while be expecting a bunch of so-called wisdom from me over the course of the next few days.

I feel like I’ve been gone for months instead of a mere week.  So much has happened in the past week.  I’ll give a brief overview to catch you up.

FRIDAY: I got a phone call from the Special Education Coordinator at Eli’s school to schedule the meeting with the Intervention Assistance Team for 12/22/10.  Eli got to 20 days of 🙂 in a row so we went to the zoo to celebrate and see the Lights Before Christmas display and talk to Santa.  Chaos started to emerge.

SATURDAY: The spirit of Christmas takes over my children and turns them into crazy maniacs.  They are full of energy and nasty mouths.  2 little boys spend a fair amount of time in time out.

SUNDAY: Eli’s behaviors go fully insane.  He’s back talking, crying over everything, fighting, yelling, driving me completely crazy.  I go into a FULL MOMMY TEMPER TANTRUM.  Finally he confesses that he’s nervous about the new swimming lessons starting on Monday.

MONDAY: The phone rings at 10:10 – it’s Eli’s teacher.  There’s been an incident.  He hit someone on the bus.  He will be spending 1st recess in the assistant principal’s office and will write an I’m sorry letter to the little boy.  His card is turned automatically to yellow.  Swimming lessons started.  2 little boys get into the water.  Eli’s still nervous but participates.  Keegan’s in love with the water, as always.

TUESDAY: More swim lessons – this time a little better because Eli knows what to expect.  Back to a 🙂 at school.

WEDNESDAY: Mommy’s LAST day of school!!!  I came home to find a giant cookie cake saying “Way 2 Go Mommy!” that my family made for me.  It was awesome.  I survived the semester.  I start looking forward to the remaining 9 months of my program.

THURSDAY: Yep, we made it to today.  Eli got another yellow card.  2 in one week.  Yet another phone conversation with Mrs. Tracy regarding yet another incident.  This time he was using inappropriate language during lunch.  More time in the assistant principal’s office – he’s getting to know her a little too well.  Swimming went off without a hitch again.

Behavior has been worse than ever this week.  Many decisions have been made.

My honey and I vowed to do NOTHING new for Eli.  We will do soccer, t-ball, swimming and nothing more.  He will only participate in those things he knows already.  Those things he can predict.

We are going next week to talk to the pediatrician regarding Eli’s anxiety and his behaviors.  We know that when he’s anxious his SPD becomes completely uncontrollable.  It has gotten to a point where all of it is above us.  It’s time to expand his team and see what other options are out there.  As I told a good friend today – Eli has so very many positives and it’s killing me to see his few negatives overshadow everything else.

Eli’s OT is going to do some extra testing with him over the holidays.  She is also going to include her daughter, who happens to be a school psychologist.  Again, adding to the team for the benefit of helping out this awesome kid.

Thanks so much to all of you for being patient while I went completely insane for a week.  I am finally able to focus on the next few weeks and actually look forward to the holidays.

We are going this weekend to get the tree and officially make it Christmas around here.  I’m going to wrap some gifts and arrange the Holiday cards that have been rolling in this week.

I’m going to spend the next couple of weeks focusing on Eli and what we can do to get him (and us) through this chapter in his life.  I’ve been looking back through my old posts at some of the challenging times we have had with him thus far.  We have survived each one and we shall get through this one too.

Welcome back everyone!  Now push play on the Friday Finale playlist and dance your very worst best disco.  You know you want to!

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to And So You’re Back From Outer Space

  1. Kate says:

    Welcome back! I love the cookie. And I am sure you will find a good path to walk with Eli. New things throw us off too.

  2. Oh, I’m so sorry about Eli’s troubles this week, but 20 days of 🙂 is amazing, and I’m glad you got to celebrate that. Hope your meetings over the holidays prove helpful, and glad you are back!

  3. Patty says:

    Good luck! It is so hard to navigate the land of SPD and kids. Figuring out what is going on with them is almost impossible at times. It’s great that you are getting some help from your OT, etc. I hope it goes well!

  4. Elastamom says:

    I will look forward to hearing abou the meeting. Glad you’re back!

Leave a Reply

