Back to Life

5 glorious days off.

I can’t say it’s been relaxing – anything but really.

It has been a treat to be home with my family for that amount of time.

The boys and I spent so much fun time together.  They were totally on each other’s nerves by today (and thus on my nerves!).

It will be good to get back to reality tomorrow.

We enjoyed a lovely Thanksgiving meal at my MIL’s home.  Eli fared pretty well with all the people and all the change in routine.  It was pretty obvious that he was having a hard time holding it together.  It was nice to hear my FIL and a family friend both comment on how well-behaved he was!

Poor Keegan got sick in the middle of the night on Thanksgiving night.  He seems to have some sort of stomach issue related to holidays.  He vomited last Christmas in my honey’s car on the way home from holiday festivities.  We’re not sure if he’s eating too much or if he’s getting into too much of something his belly can’t tolerate.  We know he has a tomato allergy and we’re pretty certain he has some kind of berry allergy.  None of it is serious, it just seems to give him an upset tummy.  Hopefully we can avoid this at Christmas.

I did my Black Friday shopping.  Yes, I’m one of those insane people who stood outside Toys R Us in the sleet and snow for 1-1/2 hours waiting to get through the doors so that I could get my grand purchases that totaled less than $30.  You can laugh, I thought it was pretty funny too!  I did some cyber shopping when I got home.  I do like shopping from my couch while snuggled in my favorite blanket much better.  But, you can bet that I’ll be out there again next year!

My honey and I are looking for new furniture.  Have been looking for new furniture for more than a month.  We haven’t bought a new couch in 9 years.  The one we have is still in good shape.  She just has this crazy notion that it might be nice to have new, matching furniture.  So, we’re looking…  It’s driving me insane.  I think I’d rather brave the sleet outside Toys R Us at 11pm.

Finally, tomorrow starts the downhill slide toward the Christmas holiday.  I have 2, count them 2 classes left.  I can hardly wait to be DONE!  I have exactly 3 weeks to work and then I get 2 weeks off.  I’m so excited for that I can hardly sit still.  We have yet to get the Christmas cards printed and sent out – mostly because we don’t have the family picture yet to put on the cards.  Perhaps next weekend…  I need to start baking, I need to clean the house and rearrange the furniture for the tree that will be coming into our living room in 2 weeks.  It’s all so much that I’m beginning to feel a bit overwhelmed.  But I keep taking those deep breaths and reminding myself that I’m almost done with my shopping and that I just need to take things day by day.  See how good I’m getting at this anxiety thing! (remind me of this in a couple of weeks when I’m going insane!!!)

27 days til Christmas…  Hope your holiday was fabulous and that your countdown to Christmas and to the end of the year is amazing.

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Back to Life

  1. Debbi Henry says:

    27 days!! Are you serious?? Ahhhhhh…I’m so not ready!

    We did get our tree today. We have the lights on it but no ornaments yet. It took most of the day to get the living room ready for the tree. With just me and Gracie home alone for the past week, I let a lot of cleaning slide. We had so much to do to get ready for that tree!

    I’m glad to hear you had a good Thanksgiving. Too bad about Keegan getting sick, but hopefully you can get that figured out before Christmas!

    Have a good day back to work tomorrow!

  2. Unknown Mami says:

    I’m so bad, I don’t even send out cards. I’m looking forward to Christmas because I love hanging out with my loved ones and eating.

  3. I think I’m going to have to jettison the family card this year because that “one good picture” isn’t happening.

    We had barfs over the holiday weekend, too. Hope Keegan can avoid it on Christmas.

    As for couch shopping, my advice is to get something cheap! Only get nice furniture once the kids are in high school.

  4. Mrs.Mayhem says:

    This time of year is so crazy busy! Maybe you could eliminate some items from your crowded to-do list, in the name of relaxation?

    I’m really trying to just chill this season. I handled hosting Thanksgiving better than normal, but Christmas is going to take all my strength to not freak out over visits from the dreaded in-laws!

  5. Know what’s worse than hearing there’s only 27 days until Christmas? I get paid every other week so I only have 2 more paychecks before Christmas!

  6. Elastamom says:

    Glad you had a good holiday. Poor Keegan!!!

Leave a Reply

