L A Z Y

Can I just start by saying that this cold has totally kicked my ass?

I thought I had it kicked.  I was breathing out of BOTH nostrils on Thursday.

I decided not to post on Thursday because I was having a !!! moment of actually sharing the couch with my honey because she was off work with me on Friday so she could stay up past 8pm.  We put all computers down and snuggled up to some Grey’s and Private Practice.  It’s not an exciting life but it was kind of nice to share it with someone other than the dog!

Friday was crazy busy and I started feeling like crap all over again.  So, I’ve spent the weekend being lazy and not posting all of the fabulous things that have happened since I last shared here.

We had conferences for both boys on Friday.

We started at Eli’s school.  His teacher is just so amazing.  I really can’t say that enough.  She shared with us that he had perfect scores on all of his recent testing.  PERFECT scores people!  She was actually talking gifted and talented programming for him.  This wasn’t really news to us but it was the first time we’d heard it from an educator.  She did have the kindergarten interventionist come in to talk to us.  We are going to be having a formal Intervention Assistance Team meeting sometime before the Christmas break.  Eli will be starting to attend a social group during his lunch hour.  It will be run by the Interventionist we met.  She works a lot on overall social skills.  It’s set up to be a really fun thing – “lunch with Mrs. W”.  Eli is thrilled that he was “chosen”!  They are looking at ways to help him attend better in the classroom.  Both his teacher and Mrs. W have some great ideas.  I’m excited to get him started with the extra assistance and see just how much more he can flourish.

We went right from Eli’s school to Keegan’s school for his conference.  Keegan’s teacher started off by showing us some video of him from last school year.  He was so tiny!  She just can’t believe how much he’s grown and matured.  She showed us scores from his recent testing.  He scored exceptionally high – many of his skills were in the 5-6 year old range.  He’s more than ready for kindergarten next year.  It made may heart swell with pride.  His downfall was drawing – no surprise to us!  Keegan is my painter.  He likes to do puzzles.  He likes to play with play dough.  He enjoys coloring.  He HATES to draw.  I’ve never gotten a picture drawn from him.  EVER.  Even last week when he wrote his name on paper for me he refused to draw.  So, his artwork for conferences was pretty slim.  When he was forced to draw, all parts were there.  It’s just not his speciality.

When the time was up I couldn’t have been a more pleased mommy.  Despite their various struggles and dislikes, my boys are souring high.  They are doing well in school and they both enjoy being there.

The rest of my weekend involved lots of being lazy, a bunch of vitamin C and a good amount of juice and water.  I snuggled on the couch a lot with my favorite blanket and even pulled out the Christmas movies a little early to watch with the boys.  We ate popcorn in front of the fireplace.  We pulled out our Christmas stories and read a few before bed.

Despite my inability to breathe, it was a lovely way to spend my extended weekend.

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Back To School, brotherly love, Intentional Happiness !!!, SPD, The Boys. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to L A Z Y

  1. Unknown Mami says:

    I’m sorry you haven’t been feeling well.

    The boys are doing great!

    I pulled out the video of Rudolph the … for my daughter and I’m afraid I did it too soon because she is asking to watch it every day now.

  2. Debbi Henry says:

    Oh Heather, I am so very happy that conferences were so good. Congrats on the boys scoring so high on their tests! That’s amazing!

    Again, I just have to say how wonderful it is to have such good and caring teachers. Eli’s teacher sounds like an amzing woman, someone you can really trust is doing the right thing for your son.

    Your weekend sounds perfect!

  3. Congrats on a couple of awesome conferences!!

  4. Elastamom says:

    Hope you’re feeling better. Glad the conferences went well! 🙂

  5. Kate says:

    Hooray for good conferences! Boo to the cold. I’ve got it too. I’m just glad to have a mouth to breath with.

Leave a Reply

