Things You Never Knew You Never Knew

My honey and I were putting together our list of questions/concerns for parent/teacher conferences coming up at the end of this week.  We will meet with both boys’ teachers on Friday.

Eli’s list was several items long.  More questions than concerns, but long nonetheless.

Keegan’s list had just a couple of bullet points.

I looked at it and questioned if we were worried enough about him.  You focus on the child with the obvious concerns.  Did Keegan have things going on that we just weren’t seeing because we were so focused on his brother?

So, being the insane parents that we are, we logically talked it out by comparing him to Eli at the same age and looking forward to skills he would need for kindergarten based on what we’ve learned so far from Eli’s class.

We were shocked!

Keegan now writes his name – backwards “g” and all!  I worried about that silently for a long time.  Eli did it at such an early age.  But then Keegan has more letters and Keegan has not ever been my writer – painter, yes, but not writer.  But this weekend he wrote his name about 8 times on various pieces of paper so I could take them to work and hang them.  A mommy couldn’t be more proud!

He draws now.  Stick people with more than just a head!  There are small details.  Again, he’s my painter.  He’s never been known to dwell on the details.

He knows his address and phone number.  This comes from listening to his brother recite them over and over to earn his kindergarten skills cards.  Chalk one up to being the nosy younger brother!

He recognizes his letters and numbers out-of-order.  He wants so badly to read.  So, he’ll read to himself or to his stuffed animals.  That kid can tell some awesome stories.

When that conversation was over, we realized his list was long enough.  We don’t HAVE to worry about him.  It’s that moment when the differences between the two boys are more obvious than ever.

And then I wonder if Eli’s list is too long??

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Keegan Only!. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Things You Never Knew You Never Knew

  1. Elastamom says:

    The worries with parenting never end, do they???

  2. Good luck at the conferences!

  3. akbutler says:

    good luck on Friday! I too wonder if I’m not worrying enough or worrying too much. Aarrgh! The worry of being a parent!

  4. ck says:

    “We don’t HAVE to worry about him.” This line hit home for me. Sometimes I have to pull back in my worry and remind myself of this. We don’t HAVE to worry. We can embrace things as they are and deal with issues as they arise. (Of course this is much easier to think and write than to actually live…)

    Good luck on Friday.

  5. Mrs.Mayhem says:

    Hopefully the conferences will go smoothly. But even if they don’t, tackle the issue and move on.

    Kindergarten couldn’t have started off worse for my daughter. But I am focusing more on her growth and learning than the teacher’s opinion.

    Ultimately, everything will be fine, no matter how much we worry and stress.

  6. Debbi Henry says:

    I know what you mean about thinking you are focused on one child! I go through that all the time!
    We just had conference for Caleb and I felt totally unprepared. I ususally have so much to talk about with Gracie’s conference, but not so with Caleb. It made me wonder if I am being a good mom to him…
    The worry never ends, for sure! Good luck at conferences and let us know how it goes!

Leave a Reply

