Time For Celebration

If you’ve been around my blog for a while you know that Back To School was a big deal for us this year.

Eli had a lot of anxiety about going to kindergarten and so did we.

At kindergarten orientation we learned about the behavior system used in the classroom.  Each student starts the day with a smiley face on a white card.  If they break a rule during the day their card gets turned to green.  If they continue to not follow the rules the card gets turned to yellow and a note is sent home to parents.  If the misbehavior continues the card is turned to red and parents are called.

To date Eli’s card has only ever been turned to green.  We pretty much expect it to happen on substitute days.  They are hard for any child and exceptionally hard for my kiddo who doesn’t adjust well to change.  Leading up to the anxieties before Halloween his card was turned to green a lot.

When he confessed his concerns to me right after Halloween we made a pact.  I would do my best to not give him reasons to worry and he would do his best to get a smiley face every day.  He already knows that if he gets 5 smiley faces in a row then he could buy lunch.

Earlier this week we marked on the calendar a “star smiley”.  This indicates to us that he got 5 in a row.  We were truly excited to realize, however, that he now had 10 in a row!  He still got to buy lunch but we wanted to acknowledge this really special event.  It was a big deal to us that he had gone this long having good days at school!

So, we decided an evening out to dinner was in store.  He got to pick the restaurant.

Saturday night we loaded our family of 4 into the car and made the short drive to our favorite Mexican restaurant so that my amazing little boy could have a “big burrito like Uncle John!”  It was so much fun to sit there and tell both boys how proud we are of them for how well they’re doing in school.  Keegan’s starting to get excited to go to kindergarten next year so he can have dinners out for getting smiley faces too!

It’s been a long struggle since the beginning of school this year.  Anxieties continue to go up and down.  Changes are all around us.  But it’s nice to know that in the face of all of this we can find some really great reasons to celebrate!

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Back To School, SPD. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Time For Celebration

  1. Debbi Henry says:

    That’s awesome Heather! I bet he was so excited and proud of himself!

  2. ck says:

    That is so inspiring, Heather. Congratulations on Eli’s successes. I can only imagine what they do to bolster the entire family.

  3. Elastamom says:

    You all deserved the night out! My kids would have picked McD’s or IHOP…I would LOVE it if they would pick Mexican! 😉

  4. First breakfast, now dinner – there are good day celebrations all around over there!!

  5. akbutler says:

    all right! 10 smiles here too!

  6. Unknown Mami says:

    I think it’s great that the whole family gets to celebrate the accomplishment.

Leave a Reply

