WWJD? or WSHD?

Be like Jesus – Embrace the wrong people.

I drove past one of those churches that’s in a building that used to be a restaurant and then a warehouse and then a store and then a church.  The quote above was on the kiosk.  I read it while sitting at the stop light and it hit me like a ton of bricks.

Work has been downright shitty lately – there’s really no other way to say it.  For about the last 6 months it’s gone downhill.  This amazing family I had for 40 hours a week went from sweet and loving to cold and backstabbing in the blink of an eye.

One morning I arrived at work like normal and the next morning that same building was magically transformed into the halls of an obnoxious, all girls, junior high school – complete with Gucci and Coach handbags.

I stopped leaving my office and eventually found myself falling into the backstabbing trap.

I worked hard to stop talking about others and soon realized that I had stopped talking to most everyone.  If you can’t say something nice…

But today…  Today I saw the sign (you can take this literally and figuratively).

I took a deep breath and thought about the last 6 months.  Why was I holding things against my coworkers?  Why was I finding hatred toward my fellow woman?  I came up with many reasons.  In the end, though, none of them were good enough to validate what I’d been doing.

So I’m making the vow to kill ’em with kindness.  I will smile, even if it kills me.  I will give more than just a head nod in the hallway – I can spare the breath to actually say “hi, how are you” AND be interested in the response.  I can stop holding a grudge for things that are over, done with, gone.

I have enough stress and anxiety in my life without adding to it!

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to WWJD? or WSHD?

  1. Kate says:

    I needed to remember this. Sometimes you just have to let it go. For you, not them. It feels hard, but putting that anger down is a relief.

  2. Debbi Henry says:

    Good idea Heather! Good luck!

  3. Elastamom says:

    Good luck. It sounds as though it’s been miserable!

  4. Mrs.Mayhem says:

    Letting go of a grudge can be difficult but I hope you will be able to move forward and release the negative feelings.

  5. Good for you and good luck!

Leave a Reply

