A New Path

For all those wondering about Eli’s anxiety – it’s better.

He shared with me yesterday morning that he was worried that I wouldn’t actually make it to his school for his party.  And, he was worried that people would make fun of his costume on Halloween.

My poor baby worries so much and I don’t know what to do about it.

On a more positive note – at least I hope it will be positive – I talked at length via email last week with Eli’s teacher regarding his anxiety.  She mentioned that she was having concerns about him in class.  She has informally met with the Intervention Assistance Team (IAT).

The beauty of this is that she’s moving us forward.  She asked to speak with Eli’s OT regarding his therapy and what types of things she’s doing.  She’s also working to schedule a formal appointment with the IAT.  This would allow for some more intensive interventions to be put into place for him.

The goal is to try these interventions for a specified amount of time.  If the interventions work then we just hang tight.  If they don’t then we look to implement a 504 or have him evaluated for an IEP.

I’m trying really hard to be excited about this and to not be frustrated.  I’m not frustrated with his teacher or even his current school.  I’m frustrated with the staff that evaluated him last year.

The OT on the team looked right at me and said “He’s too smart to be on an IEP.”  She actually questioned why he was in private OT.  Lady, did you NOT notice how he hid in the easel to avoid being around too many people?  The speech therapist WAS impressed with his language but easily noticed his social pragmatic concerns.  The teacher on the team saw how he manipulated situations to avoid things he didn’t like.  The school psychologist agreed that he’s just too smart.

I didn’t fight anything at the time.  Hind sight tells me that I should have.  But, like many parents, I was so totally overwhelmed that I completely lost the ability to think.  Now I say shame on those of you who couldn’t see past my son’s intelligence.  Look at how he is struggling today and tell me he doesn’t need assistance.

And, I say thank you to the amazing Mrs. Tracy.  She has had Eli in the forefront of her mind from the first day of school.  She has kept a close eye on him and made sure that she was asking questions about how to help him.  She is taking the steps to make sure that he continues to learn and keep up with his class.

He is incredibly intelligent but it’s about time someone else noticed that’s not all there is to my little boy.

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Back To School, SPD. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A New Path

  1. He hid in the easel? Oh, my heart aches for that little guy.

  2. Mrs.Mayhem says:

    I remember a special ed teacher telling me that I was lucky that my son had hearing loss (and an audiogram to prove it), because we could avoid the arduous battle for services.

    It’s a tough path (even with the audiogram), but you know your son best and you know what he needs. Hopefully the school will be able to provide the necessary services.

    Good luck.

  3. Elastamom says:

    Absolutely true. Thank goodness he has you and Jane in his corner!

  4. Debbi Henry says:

    Having an amazing teacher is what is going to help you the most. I am so glad that you have such a great teacher!
    You are doing a great job of keeping this positive and moving forward. Keep up the good work!
    Give him an exra little squeeze for me tonight! Hearing about his worries makes me want to give him the biggest hug!

  5. akbutler says:

    man, I hate it when I hear teachers (administrators?) say “he’s too smart to be on an IEP.” it just shows such ignorance of the purpose of an IEP. Like you can’t be smart and need help in other areas. grrrrr…
    I’m so happy it sounds like he has a teacher and team on top of things for you now. Only better things ahead.

  6. Pingback: Time For Celebration | Brotherly Love

Leave a Reply

