Worries Blowing In

For days the local weatherman has been spouting warnings of strong, hurricane force winds.  Possible tornadoes in October.  Seriously people, it’s gonna be windy.

Today arrived.  I received numerous text messages from the local TV station relaying, once again, these high wind warnings.  I get it already!  Batten down the hatches or you’ll end up in Oz!

Around 11:30 this morning we received word from our director to cancel appointments for the rest of the day.  We were NOT to leave the building.  Really??  It’s wind, people!

At 11:45 I got a phone call from Keegan’s preschool teacher saying that they were canceling preschool for the afternoon.  It wasn’t worth bringing the kids to school to have them sit through tornado sirens and be scared.  Ok, I get that.

At 12pm the tornado sirens sounded around the county.  So, to the hallway without windows we marched.  We sat against the wall on the floor for 45 minutes until the warning was over.

I sent a text to my father-in-law.  r u & kp safe?  in the basement? Yep, they were just fine.

Then my thoughts went to Eli.

No way to get in touch with anyone near him.  No way to find out if he was calm or if he was totally freaking out.  No way to hold him and tell him that everything would be ok.

We had a plethora of tornadoes come through our area this summer.  It got Eli asking all sorts of questions about the weather.  It also got him asking a lot of questions about dying in a tornado.  He started to get worried every time the sky clouded up and the threat of rain was upon us.  Every summer storm was an event meant for taming his anxieties.

So, today I worried.  I feared that my little angel was sitting in a hallway on his knees with his head bent over wondering if he would ever see his mommies again.  I feared that he would think we abandoned him in his time of fear.

I didn’t realize the teachers would tell the students that it was a drill so that they wouldn’t get scared or worried.

I didn’t realize that Eli would be quite so jazzed about getting to spend an hour in the girls bathroom.

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in family; friends, me (the crazy one), The Boys, the questions. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Worries Blowing In

  1. Debbi Henry says:

    I’m so glad that Eli didn’t get scared! I know how traumatic it can be when you are scared of storms. Caleb used to be very scared of storms and tornadoes. He still has his moments, but I think he is better now.

  2. Kate says:

    Great job teachers! My daughter’s school had a real fire recently, and they did a great job of keeping the kids safe and happy. They told stories. In the end, she was more interested in the grasshoppers her friends caught.
    But she saw the smoke. (It was in some new construction right next to her school.)

  3. Elastamom says:

    It was a crazy day!!!

  4. Mrs.Mayhem says:

    Don’t you love how the weathermen try to incite riot?! When DC had real snow (instead of “wintry mix”) last winter, the news was full of doom and gloom.

    But I’m glad you all survived the wind and especially that your son wasn’t scared. Thank goodness for great teachers!

  5. We must live somewhat close to each other…that was pretty much my day on Tuesday too. Except I had my daughter with me, in the car, while the tornado sirens were going off and she was begging me to speed home.

    My stepson (15 YO) also enjoyed spending some time in the girls bathroom at school! 🙂

Leave a Reply

