Keeping Busy

Things around here have been slightly chaotic on the weekends.

My honey is working hard to regain her massage skills.  She is opening our home to friends/family/potential clients on the weekends to ease their pains and assist in their relaxation.

Of course, relaxation doesn’t come easy when there are two little boys involved!

It has become my task to get the boys out of the house and entertain them for the morning.

Most days it is a joy to hang out with them.  This weekend posed more of a challenge.  Some say it was the change in weather.  Other’s spouted that the full moon was to blame.  Whatever it was, they were rather insane.  Of course that means that mommy was also insane.

When mommy’s insane she makes crazy plans like voluntarily taking the boys on her own to the zoo along with a hundred thousand other kids to dress in costume and trick-or-treat.

And it turned out to be FANTASTIC!!!

It was so much fun.  We laughed and giggled.  We skipped and jumped and ran.  No one fought, no one argued and everyone got completely worn out.  Including mommy!

Of course, tired little boys turn into rather sizable devils.  The rest of the day turned out to be a wash.  We ended with some quiet time on the couch watching Star Wars.  It was a great way to help us focus on the fun had during the day rather than the psychotic episodes.

Today we attempted to grocery shop during massage time.  Somewhere between my house and the store an alien ship abducted my children and replaced them with clones who were easily the devil’s spawn.  I checked their little heads for horns but they must have been in the infantile state still.

We returned home and decided to attempt some family fun time.  We went out for our annual trip to the pumpkin patch.  Those amazing little beings from the zoo somehow found their way back into my car!  There were some stressful times but overall it was an amazing adventure.

We picked pumpkins, we filled the wagon with acorn squash.  And, at Eli’s request, we picked a couple of pumpkin pie pumpkins with the understanding of attempting to make some pie next weekend.  I’ll let you know how it goes!

And so it becomes another adventure that goes down happily in the digital photo album.

As this crazy weekend comes to a close I recognize that we did have a lot of fun.  I need to focus on the fun.  If I don’t, I fear that I’ll end up selling either one or both of them for a nominal fee.

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Keeping Busy

  1. Debbi Henry says:

    $10.00!!! What a bargain! I’ll take him!

    I’m glad you had so much fun with the boys. I love the picture of them pulling and pushing the wagon together. That’s what brothers are for!

    As usual, you do an amazing job of focusing on the positive!

  2. Sometimes my kids are such demons that I consider putting them out on the sidewalk in a box with a sign that reads: Free to Good Home.

    Glad to hear that there was joy and fun amid the mayhem!

  3. Mrs.Mayhem says:

    A good day with kids is when the positives outweigh the negatives. Sounds like you had two very good days!

    I applaud you for taking the kids to the zoo to trick or treat. It must have been insane there! Last year we went to the Air & Space Museum’s “Air & Scare” and it was heinously crowded.

  4. I love the days that seem daunting but end up being amazing. I’m sure that has a lot to do with my own attitude as well as my kids! 🙂

  5. Elastamom says:

    Isn’t it crazy how they can be angels and devils all in the same day?

Leave a Reply

