The Other Side of the Mountain

You see it in the distance.

That HUGE hurdle that you can’t just leap over.

That mountain in the distance just begging to be conquered.

So you put one foot in front of the other and you start the journey.

Each day the mountain looks a little larger, a little more intimidating.

Still you trudge forward because you know what awaits you at the top.

Each grueling step upward has you swearing just a little under your breath.

You trip over stones and pebbles and maybe even slide backward a few feet.

Everyday the top of that mountain gets a little closer.

You are so close you can almost taste the victory.

Finally your feet reach the summit and you look into the distance.

You see the beauty that is the other side of that mountain.

Rolling green fields calling for you to lay on your side with your arms crossed over your chest and roll and scream with delight all the way to the bottom.

When you reach the bottom you land on a bed of clouds that envelops you in its softness and makes you feel safe.

So you close your eyes and sleep the most blissful sleep you’ve ever had because you conquered that mountain today.

Rest assured, there are other mountains in the distance.

They will call for you another day.

For today you must simply relish in the fact that you’ve accomplished your task.

You are amazing.

You are a mom.

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in brotherly love. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Other Side of the Mountain

  1. The extreme pessimist in me kept thinking about reaching the top of the mountain and being hurled off the other side. đŸ™‚

    My husband appreciates this character trait (flaw) in me most of all!

  2. Mrs.Mayhem says:

    A great reminder to savor our accomplishments. I tend to focus immediately on the next task.

Leave a Reply

