A “Sensational” Weekend

Birthdays bring surprises.  Surprises bring anticipation, anxiety, craziness.

Eli was anxious enough to push me right over the edge this weekend.  I worked hard to enhance my calm and breathe those cleansing deep breaths.  Some moments it worked and some moments I just about choked on that breath.  But we took the opportunity to keep busy and we survived.

My honey is getting back into her world of massage and had a client come to the house Saturday morning.  So, the boys and I went on an adventure.  We shopped for the upcoming birthday party.  We played in the toys aisles.  We looked at the creepy Halloween stuff and bought the gray face paint for Eli’s costume (nope, not gonna reveal it here!  You’ll just have to wait!).

Eli was vocal stimming the ENTIRE time.  I worked hard to make it a part of our experience, to make it not be annoying.  It worked for the morning.  And because they both worked so very hard to get through our shopping together, they were rewarded with an impromptu trip to McDonald’s.

We survived McDonald’s and headed home to get my honey.  We had planned a trip to the apple orchard.  I contemplated on the way home whether or not it was going to be a good idea.  Would Eli be able to survive the trip?  But, Keegan was so looking forward to the journey that I couldn’t say no.  So, we ran into the house for a quick bathroom break and then headed out as a family.

The adventure started out as I suspected.  Eli was talking in his “anxious” voice.  I can’t even begin to describe it except to say that it’s like nails on the chalkboard.  He began to whine that we were walking too far and that it was too hot.  But then the first apple was picked.

And we all remembered why we were there.  Little boys climbed trees.

They even climbed their mommy.

note the devilish look on Eli’s face in this pic?!?!

And Eli found a way to get a bunch of wiggles out by walking across all of the apples on the ground.

And in the end there were a lot of apples picked and a lot of hard work accomplished!

We had a little down time this weekend after all.  Because, even little boys need to attempt to be still sometimes!  And when they can’t remain completely still (which isn’t possible for ANY boy!) then they sometimes do this:

The party finally rolled around and was fantastic from beginning to end!  The boys played well together with very few incidences of boys being left out or feelings being hurt.  And I created the cake – with much direction from the birthday boy himself!

It’s supposed to look like a Lego platform – not bad for my first cake!  And Eli LOVED it:)

And so, as the weekend comes to a close, I can say that it really wasn’t as bad as I had feared.  We all survived and were all ready to drop by the end of today.  The boys were in bed a full 1/2 hour earlier than usual and my honey wasn’t far behind them.  I caught up on some much-needed sleep earlier in the weekend so I’m still going strong.

*************************************************************************

It never ceases to amaze me at how supportive Keegan can be on the days that Eli is so very out of control.  I think, sometimes, that he is the only reason that Eli is able to come down from the ledge.  He works so very hard to try to make him happy, to try to bring him back from the sensory overload.  And sometimes, that’s when the Brotherly Love is truly at it’s best.

Sometimes…

 

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A “Sensational” Weekend

  1. The last photos are priceless! I think your cake decorating skills are quite impressive.

    Isn’t it amazing how kids can step up the way Keegan can? It’s almost like they know to throw you a bone, because you’re nearing the ledge. Sounds like a busy but fun weekend.

  2. Elastamom says:

    That cake was awesome!! I thought Eli seemed wonderfully calm for being in the midst of a 6-year-old birthday party! 🙂 You all did a great job!!

  3. Your cake looks great!

    And the fact that you can use breathing techniques to help calm yourself is quite impressive.

Leave a Reply

