Six!!!

Six years ago today your tiny little body attached to your cone-shaped head entered this world.  You looked into my eyes and my heart melted.

You grew so very fast.  You talked early.  You HATED crawling.  You put off cutting teeth until you were 9 months old.  You were fitted with the cutest glasses when you were 6 months old.  You found your feet and took some of your first ever steps at the cabin you love so very much today.  Before we knew it we were lighting one little candle on a cake in celebration of your first birthday.

You continued to change.  We rocked your world when you were only 18 months old by adding a little brother to our family.  You shared a room, you shared toys and most days you were happy about having him around.  You started to ask questions about how God made you – boy were we NOT ready for that!  You found a love of big trucks and excavators.  You gave up your bink-bink, though certainly not by choice.  You made Blue Bear your very best friend.  And then another candle was added to the cake!

We changed your world again.  We started the construction of a new home.  You LOVED going to the construction site to see the big trucks and all of the workers.  You were excited about your new room!  You moved into a toddler bed but missed the walls of the crib.  We packed up all of your toys and moved you into that new house that you watched be built from the ground up.  You cried for a while because you wanted to go home.  You soon realized the extra room you had to play.  Just in time for your 3rd birthday cake!

Your intelligence continued to accelerate.  You started preschool with Ms. Maryann.  You were not at all hesitant to leave us that first day.  But we sure had a hard time letting you go!  I cried, I proudly admit it.  I couldn’t wait to pick you up at the end of your first day.  I needed you back in my arms!  You continued to show your independence and practically added the next candle to your cake on your own!

You started to appear “different from the other children in your class.  Dr. Maureen said it was SPD.  You started weekly therapy with her.  You tried therapeutic listening that worked for a little while.  We started a new construction project to finish the basement so that you could have a therapy area at home too.  You continued to grow with the help of Ms. Maryann and blew our minds away everyday with all of the things you were learning.  You continued to ask those difficult questions that we hoped we gave you the right answers for.  You said goodbye to your Auntie Heidi and learned a big life lesson at such a little age.  You invented “ocean wave hugs” that continue to strengthen me whenever you hand them out.  Then that big number 5 came along!

The past year has flown.  It feels like only yesterday that we were at the zoo for your big 5-year-old celebration – your very first party with friends.  You’ve fallen in love with Legos and your creativity has gone through the roof.  You’ve grown like mad!  I can’t even keep track of how many shoe sizes you’ve gone through in the past year!  You tried out t-ball and did a fabulous job.  You started group therapy to learn to socialize and interact with other children in more appropriate ways.  You started kindergarten and totally rocked it out.  As always, you never cease to amaze me.  You know so much and are always asking questions to learn more.  And today we added candle number 6 to that ever-growing cake.

I can’t even begin to imagine what the next year will hold for you my little bug.  Thank you so much for choosing me to be a part of the journey with you.

Happy Birthday Eli!  Mommy loves you so much!

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Intentional Happiness !!!, SPD, The Boys, the questions. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Six!!!

  1. Elastamom says:

    Happy Birthday sweet boy!!

  2. Jaimee says:

    What a sweet, SWEET looking-back post : ) Happy Birthday Eli!

  3. akbutler says:

    happy birthday to you both!!!

  4. Sherri says:

    I just did a couple of posts on my own six year old’s birthday (AND his six year old well visit today so was reminiscing as well), AND I have two boys a year apart, so….. I am quite happy I stumbled onto your blog (through another we both comment on). Happy Birthday to your little guy! I like reading about your happy times, challenges, etc. – similar to mine in many ways.

  5. ck says:

    I love how you wrote this piece. I hope you tuck a copy of it away in his baby book.

Leave a Reply

