A Lot To Learn

Every Monday I leave work at 3:30pm.

I drive across town, pass my house and turn right into the sculpted lands of the Pacesetter soccer fields.

I join my honey and Eli in watching Keegan gain soccer skills for the future.

Keegan’s time ends and Eli’s begins.  My honey takes Keegan home to make dinner and I stay to watch another talent in the making.

For the 2nd week in a row the clouds creep overhead and cradle the sun tightly.

The breeze picks up just a little.

Suddenly 67° feels like the deep freeze.

And, for the 2nd week I sit atop my polyester blanket.  This time at least I’m wearing socks and a fleece jacket.

I fail to walk to the parking lot to get the camper chair out of my car to get my ass of the cold ground.

I fail to bring one of the numerous fleece blankets from the pile in my basement to envelope my body and send a little warmth to my chattering bones.

I wonder for the 500th time why I encourage my children to play an outdoor sport that craves the crisp October and November air.

And then I see their smiling faces and their fancy moves.  I see joy in their eyes whenever they want to show me all that they learned that session.  I get tackled with loving hugs because I was able to make soccer again today.

My body still creaks and my bones still clickety-clack but my heart is warm.  And I remember for the 501st time why I support them in something they love so much!

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in brotherly love, The Boys. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Lot To Learn

  1. Mrs.Mayhem says:

    The things we do to make our kids happy. Hopefully, even if the kids don’t remember the details when they grown, hopefully each activity will contribute to a sense of happiness and well-being. This is such a sweet post.

    By the way, I love the photo on your header, with those big smiles.

  2. Elastamom says:

    I think the same thing every Saturday and Sunday!!!

  3. This is why I encouraged my daughter’s desire to play Volleyball. Hidden agenda? Maybe.

  4. Debbi Henry says:

    Sounds like fun!
    I learned to keep a football bag in my van. I kept a coat, a few blankets, umbrella and gloves, in my van at all times, ready whenever I needed it.
    You are right though, their smiles warm your heart and make it all worth it.

Leave a Reply

