Another One of THOSE Weekends

How do we get here?

How do we get to that place where you can’t stop yelling, you can’t stop moving, you can’t calm down?

You’ve gone so many days with nothing.

So many days where you have self-control, where you’re a joy to be around.

I love you so, and you’re my little boy no matter what.

But this weekend you were a struggle.

You tested my patience with your constant verbal stimming.

You tired me out with your constant need to move.

You had me cringing every time you moved for fear that you would break something or hurt yourself with your inability to focus.

You keep me wondering what brings on this change.

Is it the weather?  Is it the numbers of activities you do in a week?  Are you not sleeping well again?  Is it another growth spurt?

It’s so very hard to watch you struggle to control your entire person.

I hate when you cry the crocodile tears over everything that happens because your emotions are out of control, like everything else.

I take solace in the fact that at times like these you need my hugs.  That my hugs actually comfort you.

Because, unfortunately, little man my hugs are all I have.

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in SPD. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Another One of THOSE Weekends

  1. Jen says:

    I could have written this in reference to my oldest, Gracie. Thanks for voicing what so many of us think and feel.

  2. Patty says:

    Wow, I so know what you mean here. I have felt the very same things many, many times, except that typically my hugs only make matters worse for my son. And I am convinced the weather or the cycle of the moon or something totally affects our kids’ behavior! I am always searching for a reason why my kid acts out at times.

    Thanks for your honesty!

  3. Elastamom says:

    Those weekends are so rough. Maybe it’s the excitement of his upcoming birthday!! 🙂 Hang in there.

  4. I feel your anguish in your words. I’d say he’s pretty lucky to have a Mom who knows that hugs can make it better.

  5. Obviously, this weekend was major suckage. I’m so sorry–and I hope a turnaround is headed your way soon. xo

Leave a Reply

