Angels Smiling Down

After a craptastic week like last week I needed a little happy.

I stepped up today and pulled it down from atop the refrigerator.

I’ve talked before about it here and here.

I gently and cautiously opened its tattered cover.

I perused the pages until I found the spot my fingers were searching for.

I had everything I needed but I wasn’t quite ready.

I placed it back in its spot and walked away.

I reached the stairs and heard a crashing noise.

Children were upstairs getting dressed with assistance from my honey.

No one around to push it down and the surface was level.

Ok Heidi…  I promise to open the cover again today and fill my house with the fabulous smells of our childhood.

This time the book stayed where I placed it.

I did as I promised and pulled it back out along with the necessary tools and ingredients.

I sought advice from little people.  Amazingly they didn’t want to help.  The ALWAYS want to help me bake.  Apparently I was supposed to be on my own for this adventure.

Adding, mixing, forming, baking, removing, cooling.

Success never tasted so sweet.

We all took part in the amazing delight.  Even my honey sacrificed the fat grams to enjoy the bliss.  The boys said they were the best ever.  The memories flowed with each bite.

I placed it back in its familiar home atop the refrigerator with tears streaming down my cheeks.

I’m still not ready to allow it to join Rachel Ray and Betty Crocker.  It’s so much more valuable than that.

The maiden voyage has been completed and I survived.  I’m pretty sure there were some icebergs along the way but I did not sink.  I’m certain it won’t be long before another journey is made.

And now I know that my sister will be making that journey right next to me.

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in cooking, family; friends. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Angels Smiling Down

  1. Debbi Henry says:

    Oh Heather!! I am so happy that you were able to not only get the book down, but to make some cookies. Now, in the moments ahead, where you are not so happy, remember that you did it this time and you can do it again.
    I agree with not putting this precious cookbook with Rachel Ray and Betty Crocker. It is much more precious and deserves a place of honor!

  2. Mrs.Mayhem says:

    What a precious book! It’s wonderful that you used it to make a sweet treat for your family. A dessert sprinkled with generations of love.

  3. Isn’t it amazing how one possession can hold so many memories and mean so much….

Leave a Reply

