Happy

This week has been crazy.  There’s been a lot out there to piss me off.  A lot to make me ponder and keep me up late at night.  And truly a lot to celebrate.

We had our first conference with Eli’s kindergarten teacher today.  This is the conference that SHE requested at the beginning of the school year.

It was amazing.  She had all of these fabulous things to say about Eli.  She started by saying that she’s had the OT come in and observe him a couple of times for ideas to help meet his sensory needs.  She’s learning and recognizing what things he’s capable of controlling and what things he has no control over – those very truly sensory things.  She has fantastic ideas regarding interventions for him.  She understands the needs that he has and has found phenomenal ways to meet those needs.  Most of all, she ENJOYS MY CHILD!!

She actually said those words.  She called him a happy child.  She said his smile makes her smile.  She said she loves seeing him walk through the door everyday.

We talked at length about things that work for Eli at home and things she could try at school as needed.  She said she will continue to email us with her interventions and any other questions/comments that she may have.  She is delighted by his transition to kindergarten and really feels no need to meet with us again until conference time.  The best part is neither do we.

Now we get to head into a weekend where my honey is home ALL weekend!  We have absolutely NO plans for the whole weekend.  And soooo…..

We have promised LOADS of fun!  Maybe the zoo, or the park, or a picnic, or some Wii time, or some backyard soccer.  Or maybe we’ll do it ALL!!!  Look out Ohio, here we come!

There will be no work, no homework, as little thinking as possible.  I briefly talked to my friend yesterday.  Not about anything specific – I just took a moment to check in.  That made me feel a little better.  There has been some general pettiness at work that I have put behind me.  This weekend I will enjoy my family, I will laugh with my boys.  We will spend the entire weekend happy.

Because that’s what it’s all about!

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Back To School, SPD. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Happy

  1. Mrs.Mayhem says:

    A weekend void of any plans is certainly something to celebrate! Hope you enjoy it!

  2. What an Uplifting post! Glad all is well with him and School. Have a Blessed Weekend!

  3. Debbi Henry says:

    Thanks for giving the update about Eli’s teacher. I love hearing about how wonderful she is.
    Have a wonderful, beautiful, amazing weekend!!

  4. Elastamom says:

    Yeah for being happy!!!

  5. Pingback: Angels Smiling Down | Brotherly Love

Leave a Reply

