Table for Two

He came home talking about it.

mommy I don’t sit at the yellow table anymore.  I sit at Eli’s Table.

Was that something you decided or your teacher?

It was her idea.  I can pick a friend to sit with me.

Hmmmm.  I wasn’t so sure how I felt about this.  Why is my baby being singled out.

Then I opened my email inbox to find a message from the teacher.

Hi Heather!

I just wanted to keep you informed of any interventions I provided in the
classroom for Eli. I have
created a visual unpacking schedule on the smartboard for unpacking and lunch
count (for all the
children.) It seems to be a success. As of today, I have also been trying an
“Eli table” which is slightly
removed from the larger (6 person) tables. I will allow him to choose a
person each day to sit with him.
Please understand that this is NOT a punishment of any kind. I am just trying
to create a place in the
classroom that is comfortable for Eli. The six person tables are not ideal
for many learners, but Eli
really struggles to attend and complete tasks. He seems to like this
arrangement, and agrees that he
might make better choices and pay attention better at his new seat. He also
gets a kick out of calling it
the “Eli table!!” Many of the other children have already requested to sit
with him.

Please let me know if this does not follow interventions or things you have
implemented in the past. I
can try something else!

Thanks,

The biggest concern I have about interventions for Eli is that he gets that things are changed for him because he’s “different”.  He doesn’t want the change if it’s going to make him stand out more.  The plus of the Eli Table is that he was really excited about it!  He was naming the friends he wanted to pick to sit with him.  And he is usually the popular kid in class because he recognizes how to make kids laugh to get them to like him.  So I see this as a win/win for him. 

We will meet with his teacher next Friday for our first official conference of the school year.  She requested this when we met at orientation and she followed through.  So far our communication has been great.  I feel really comfortable with her being the person that is helping my son learn for the next year.  I feel confident that his needs are being met or that she is working to try to get his needs met.  I feel more confident that he will succeed.

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Back To School, SPD. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Table for Two

  1. Debbi Henry says:

    Wow, I am very impressed that she sent an email explaining the Eli Table. I only wish Gracie’s teachers were as willing to communicate with me as Eli’s teacher. I also love that she asked you if it is okay or if you would like to try something else. Maybe it is me, but Gracie’s teachers have never been like that with me!

    It really does sound like he is in a great environment and is doing well. I love hearing about the good things in his school!

  2. Sounds like this teacher knows what she’s doing. I’m glad she’s found a way to help Eli focus AND feel special. Hope the conference goes well!

  3. I’m new (I read your About Me page 🙂 ) to your blog but impressed right off with the communication between you and the teacher. It’s nice to know she’s perceptive enough to try something new and receptive enough to recognize that you might not like it or that it might not work.

    Congrats to you for making this teacher feel as though she can approach you. Something not all parents master.

  4. ck says:

    How wonderful that you have someone like this partnering up with you for the year. Creativity and thoughtfulness in a teacher is such a blessing.

  5. Pingback: Have I Mentioned I LOVE Her? | Brotherly Love

Leave a Reply

