So Close…

Summer in Ohio this year has been H.O.T. 

The air conditioner that barely spun its fan last summer has gotten a full-bodied workout this summer. 

We have longed for cooler days or pools and lakes that wash the heat away.

Recently the cooler days arrived.  The air conditioner went into hibernation.  The opened windows welcomed the breezes.  The neighborhood sounded of the laughter of children and smelled of a variety of grilled masterpieces.  The bike path abounded with activity. 

I started to envision crisp fall evenings watching my boys play soccer.  Walks through the local parks admiring the colors that mother nature has bestowed upon us.  Capris and flip-flops partnered with favorite sweatshirts.   

My head began to swell with the longing of those foods that we eat when it’s cooler.  I began to drool over the thoughts of dishes made with lots of carbs that are meant to keep you warm during the winter tirades. 

I had visions of  frolicking with my family in the midst of the apple orchard.  We would pick more apples than we think we could possibly eat.  We would eat cinnamon donuts and drink the most fabulous cider ever made.  We would bring home our bushel, wash them and proceed to make more apple recipes than anyone could imagine.

All of this was in my grasp until the temperature reached 90° today.  I spent the evening closing the windows and awakening my poor, sleeping air conditioner.  I went back to thinking of salads and other lightened dishes that encompass the summer months.  I wiped sweat from my boys’ brows when they finished their short-lived jump on the trampoline.  And I gazed longingly at the crates and ladders strategically placed amongst the trees of the local apple orchard. 

I opened the freezer tonight to get ice for my drink and my eyes rested upon a forgotten box of phyllo dough.  I immediately flashed to the orchard, to fall and to this recipe from the Weight Watchers In One Pot Cookbook.

Apple Turnovers

4 Granny Smith apples (or other tart apple), peeled, cored and cut into 1/2″pieces

1/3 cup raisins

3 tablespoons plus 1-1/2 teaspoons sugar

1 teaspoon ground ginger

1/4 cup water

6 sheets phyllo dough, thawed according to package directions

Preheat oven to 350°F.  Spray a baking sheet with nonstick spray; set aside

Spray a large nonstick skillet with nonstick spray and set over medium-high heat.  Add the apples, raisins and 3 tablespoons of the sugar.  Cook, stirring about 3 minutes.  Stir in the ginger and water; cook until the apples are tender and teh liquid evaporates, 3-4 minutes.  Let the mixture cool slightly, about 15 minutes.

Place one sheet of the phyllo on a work surface with the long side nearest you.  Spray lightly with nonstick spray and top with a second sheet.  Spray lightly and top with a third sheet; spray lightly again.  Cut the stacked phyllo sheets lengthwise into 3 strips.  Place 1/3 cup of the apple mixture in the center bottom of each strip.  Fold each strip from the bottom right corner over the filling to the left side to form a triangle.  Continue folding from corner to side, flag-style, to the top of each strip.  Place the 3 triangles seam-side down on the baking sheet.  Repeat with the remaining 3 sheets of phyllo and apple filling, making a total of 6 triangles.

Lightly spray the turnovers with nonstick spray, then sprinkle with the remaining 1-1/2 teaspoons sugar.  Bake until light golden, 20-25 minutes.

For those of us trying to prevent that shadow behind us from growing throughout the upcoming winter months feel free to eat as many of these as you’d like!  They are only 156 calories and 1 gram of fat per turnover!  (it’s a dessert even you could grow to love Kitch!)   

So for today I will go back to the summer that is so very common in August in Ohio.  I will wear sleeveless tops with my capris and flip-flops.  And as I take a bite from my store-bought apple I will savor the flavors that I know will return with the cooler weather that comes with fall in Ohio.

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in cooking. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to So Close…

  1. Debbi Henry says:

    We had a couple of really nice, cooler days too. However, the heat has returned. I love fall, and am so ready for it to arrive.

    This post is beautifully written! I love how descriptive you were and I could picture the scene about your neighborhood, and the orchard.

    The recipe sounds great too!

  2. A diet apple turnover? Sign me up! Without the raisins, of course! 🙂 I’m ready for fall, too, sister.

    • pick your dried fruit of choice Kitch;) It’s good with pretty much everything! These things are amazing – but I ruin the diet part by adding the side of ice cream these turnovers are screaming for when they come out of the oven!

  3. Elastamom says:

    We were just talking about how we are looking forward to fall here as well. That’s what I love about Ohio…always some different weather to look forward to and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

