The Message

I stopped into our Family Library Center at work to pick out some books for the children I was going to visit.  We partner with Scholastic Books to be able to give free books to the families that we serve.  It’s a fabulous program that has benefited so many of the children I see.

I always take a moment to read the books before choosing them.  I like to pick books for my kids that mean something to them, that they will want to read over and over.

While thumbing through the shelf I came across this book:

and I started to read…
The story follows the adorable little mouse home from visiting his cousin.  On his way he falls off of a vine and questions his luck.  He states it’s going to be a bad day.  He continues on his journey only to fall into a dark hole, sit on a thistle that causes him to leap into the air, fall into the water, slip on a hill and slide to the bottom and finally make his way home.  He tells his mom all about his horrible journey.
What the sweet little mouse doesn’t know is that the fall from the vine saved him from the cat that was following nearby.  The fall into the dark hole rescued him from the bird that was about to dive down to eat him.  The thistle cause a snake to just miss getting the mouse into his jaws.  The fall into the water save him from the fish that was jumping out of the water to swallow him up.  The slide down the hill is enough to confuse the fox that was creeping up behind him.  His mother comforts him from his day by telling him that it could have been worse – just as a cat gets his nose caught in a mouse trap outside of their hole in the wall.
Yesterday this book spoke volumes to me.  I thought about the trials and tribulations that we encounter daily.  For some of us, on any given day, various events feel like the end of the world.  Our vision of the experience is so very tunneled that we neglect to see around it.  And yet, if we opened our eyes just a little more we’d see the things that could have happened instead.  
I encourage all of you to take a step back from those situations around you that seem impossible.  Recognize that there could have been different outcomes and that those alternate outcomes are not necessarily ideal.  And remember that everything happens for a reason, though you may not be able to put your finger on the reason right away.  And regardless of religion, trust that there is something out there – be it fate or a higher power – that is pointing you in the appropriate direction.  Even if that is not your direction of choice. 
About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Message

  1. The Henrys says:

    That sounds like an amazing book Heather and I am so glad that you shared it. As I get ready for Gracie's appt tomorrow, I needed to read what you wrote. I have been getting so worked up over this appt and I can't stop. I know that this isn't the end of the world, but I still am anxious. I needed this reminder of just letting go and let the appt happen. I can't control the outcome and I may not see the direction we are sent in tomorrow, but I know it will be the right one.Thanks again for sharing this. It is perfect timing for me!

  2. akbutler says:

    This sounds like a must read for my whole family (and friends!) I think we’ll go check it out. Thanks!
    Alysia

Leave a Reply

