What A Difference A Day Makes!

I had all of these great thoughts planned. 

As usual, I had things I needed wanted to say.

And then along came Tuesday!

Keegan woke up with a barky cough and breathing issues again.

The pediatrician promptly stated he has croup (which he doesn’t – it’s allergies) quickly wrote out a script for steriods and sent us on our merry way.  (Truth be told I think she was trying to get rid of us because it’s the very same doctor we’ve seen for all of our poison ivy visits this summer!)

We spent 30 minutes in the store waiting for the pharmacy to fill the script – why does it take so long to measure out a bottle of liquid steroids??  I swear there was no one else in front of us!

Eli was hyper – probably because he was nervous about being in the doctor’s office with Keegan.  He was talking non stop and totally driving me insane.

Keegan was hypersensitive and cried over everything Eli did.

I went to work where I found this fabulous book that brightened my day.  I wanted to tell you all about it but it will have to wait until tomorrow.  It’s late and I have WAY to much to say!

I went to a parent information session on a “new” (within the last 15-20 years) type of therapy for children with sensory issues.  I went into it skeptical and came out slightly appalled.  The director and the coordinator of the program could not answer the questions I had.  (**side note that I went to this session with both my mommy and my professional hats on**).  I didn’t ask difficult questions (I didn’t think!).  They could not tell me what children who went through this treatment 15 years ago look like now.  They also could not tell me how the therapy affected children with seizure disorders.  I asked them because a dear friend of mine was considering the therapy for his son who has sensory issues, behavior and seizures.  The answer I got from the staff was that the light is not a strobe light so it “shouldn’t” have any effect.  I’m talking about The Sensory Learning Program

Don’t get me wrong.  I think it sounds like a good thing.  It sounds like parents see results in only a few days.  But it was emphasized that the children would still need OT, PT, ST, Behavior Therapy, etc.  And they couldn’t tell me if the results continued to show in years after the therapy was completed.  And it costs $3200.  I don’t buy it.  There are some people who think that because something costs a lot of money that it will be the end all be all. 

I tried having an open mind about this.  I don’t see it as right for my family.  I did gather the information so that I can offer it as an option for the families that I serve.  I would love to hear if anyone out there has tried the therapy and what your results were.  How long ago was the therapy?  If it helps just one family then it was worth it.  I think, though, that people need to put all of the information out there.  Tell the truth.  If the product works then the truth is all you need.

So I got home late from that and I hit the couch hard.  And here I sit 3 hours later.  So tomorrow I will share the inspiring book I found.  And be sure to come back at the end of the week.  I have an exciting announcement (at least I think it’s exciting!) to share:)

Have a happy Wednesday everyone!

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

