Serenity?? Almost…

God grant me the serenity
To accept the things I cannot change
The courage to change the things I can
And the wisdom to know the difference

I went into the woods this weekend with these words echoing in my mind.

I spent 36 hours in quiet calm in a cabin in the woods this weekend.

Just me, myself and I.

Alone with my thoughts, my ideas, my fears.

I haven’t been myself for quite sometime. 

I needed to take some time to find me – to figure out where I went.

I needed to get caught up on some work that has been really stressing me.

I lit a fire in the fire pit and sat in my favorite chair. 

I stayed outside until I could no longer see the porch.

I alternated doing my work and sorting out my thoughts.

While my work wasn’t completely finished when I left I feel a lot less anxious with the progress I made.

I took the time to sort out all of those things in my life that I cannot change and pondered how to deal with them.

I categorized the things that I do have control over and began laying the groundwork for the courage I will need to change me or change the situation.

I was excited to find myself missing my family after less than 24 hours of being away from them. 

I don’t know that I’m back 100% but I’m a lot closer than I was before I left.

I caught a glimmer of the me I was looking for. 

She’s out there and is now in arms reach.

She gave me back my smile and along with it a lighter heart.

And now I have the wisdom I needed to continue to move forward.

A big thank you to my honey and my boys for allowing me the opportunity to find the me they know and love.

And thank you for putting up with the me that’s been hanging around here lately.  She knows she’s not welcome and is packing her bags.

Love you!!!

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Serenity?? Almost…

  1. The Henrys says:

    Heather, I am so glad that you had some time away, all by yourself! I can't imagine the peace that you must have felt and just how quiet the cabin was with just you there. It is hard to take the time that we need but as I always say, it will make us better mothrs. Hopefully the memories of your weekend away will refresh you when you are feeling stressed.

  2. The Henrys says:

    p.s. thanks for the advice on videotaping Gracie. I hadn't thought of doing that but I think it will really help. I'm going to try to get that done tomorrow!

  3. Alysia says:

    That is beautiful. Good for you for taking that space, and good for your family for letting you go. I'm impressed and inspired. (my have to show this to my husband šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

