21 !!!

Remember this little boy??
The one who didn’t want to get into Lake Michigan??
The one who preferred to lay on shore and play in the sand simply because the lake was the unknown and the water was scary??
He later became this boy who explored his aunt and uncle’s lake with caution.
There was safety in this water because he wore a life jacket and because there was so much of the lake that he could touch the bottom of and still barely get wet.
WELL…….
This little boy is the reason for my !!! today.
I don’t have a picture to prove it because I happened to be at work when the wonderous event took place.
My honey took the boys to a nearby lake for a swim today.
Eli has been practicing getting wet more in the pool at therapy.
Last week he put his head in the water up to his nose (with his nose underwater).
Today at the lake with my honey he did SO MUCH MORE!!!
I arrived home from work today to hear him screaming with elation!
“mommy, mommy!!  I put my WHOLE head under the water at the lake and kept it under the water all the way till mama counted to 21!!!”
And, he did it more than once!!!
My little boy has changed and grown so much this summer.
He is learning to try new things.
He is learning that the unknown is not always a scary thing.
He continues to amaze me every day.
How can that be anything but !!!
About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to 21 !!!

  1. The Henrys says:

    That's so exciting! I love hearing how much he has grown this summer, but I really love hearing how proud of himself he is! I love watching kids have feelings of pride, and after all of their struggles they deserve it!

  2. Helene says:

    That is very exciting!!!! I love that he was so proud of himself!! Definitely a !!! moment for sure!

  3. Alysia says:

    Hurray for HUGE milestones! That's awesome!

  4. Tiffany says:

    That is definitely worthy of !!!

  5. ck says:

    That is so wonderfully !!!I'm smiling as I read this because we're having a similar summer of water fears and successes and it is so exhilarating to watch our kids embrace what they were once terrified of. Congratulations!

  6. Good for him. And for you! How exciting!!!

  7. Pingback: My Favorite Part | Brotherly Love

Leave a Reply

