Caution…

Soccer camp started today.  For my little anxiety ridden angel it was a time of fear and dread.  A time of wondering who will be there, will I know anyone, will they ask me to do something I don’t know how to do, will someone tease me, will someone make fun of the way I play???

Eli spent the morning making noises and rhyming.  These are his comforts when he’s incredibly anxious.  I was happy that I could get him to verbalize his anxieties but felt bad that it didn’t help. 
It was hard to listen to his ranting.  His brother was over it and yelling at him.  To be quite frank, I couldn’t take much more of it either.  The combination of the two boys was putting me over the edge.
Thank goodness for all of us that I dropped the boys off at soccer camp and got 2 hours of mommy only time AND the fabulous coaches knew enough to separate the two brothers that were about to beat each other and break glasses for the 4th time in the past week (I swear the ladies at the eye doctors office know us by name!).
I have yet to figure out a way for all of us, Eli included, to get around the anxieties and the verbal stim to calm.  No one gave me a handbook for this when we left the hospital with him.  The best I can do is to keep helping him talk through it and hope that it gets better with time.  And I need to keep my patience in check in order to better relax his anxieties.
I need to carry this sign with me.  I need to give this sign to all new parents.  Life is full of speed bumps – the best thing to do is to slow down but not let them stop you.  Or perhaps allow them to force you to look for a new path – a better path – that will help everyone get to the final destination more smoothly.
About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

