An SPD Vacation

I rode a long time in a car in a seat that’s not very comfortable.  This trip was good, though.  This trip I could lay my head on the pillow my mom remembered to leave by my seat.  I was able to go to sleep.

I was so excited to arrive at the cabin.  My mom let me play outside after we got there so get out some energy.  It was still really hard to go to sleep.

We went to Lake Michigan.  I liked getting my feet wet in the cold water – it felt good when it lapped over my toes.  I layed in the sand because I was afraid of the swimming area.  I wasn’t convinced that I wouldn’t drown.  Mom said the water wasn’t deep, but maybe it just wasn’t deep to her.  I took my mom exploring instead of swimming.  Maybe she’d forget about getting me into the water.  The exploring was fun but really hard work.  We climbed large hills that were covered in sand.  Some of the sand was really hot on my feet.  Some of the plants were really prickly.  Finally I did go into the water and I layed down on my belly.  I was so excited and proud of myself.  Mom was really happy too!  We had to do some shopping after that but it wasn’t so bad! I was pretty calm after all the work we did at the beach!

Being at the cabin is the best.  There’s all this room for me to run.  Papa sets up ropes in the trees for me to climb and swing on.  There was a ladder for me to climb too.  There’s a ton of sand for us to dig in.  I love the way that sand feels.  Papa set up the blow up pool for us to get in.  I don’t mind the water there – except it was pretty cold.  My brother and I decided to have a squirt gun fight instead of get into the water.  We got mama involved too!  I get to help my mom with the fire – carrying the wood is hard work but she loves it when I help her.  And, a good fire always gets us smores!  They’re kind of sweet to me but I always like to eat one.  Then my mom lights the sparklers.  I’m a little afraid of them but they are so very cool.

We went to my aunt and uncle’s cottage at the lake for a day.  I love playing with my cousin.  I like their lake because I’ve been in it before.  But, I still don’t like to go in the deep parts.  I can walk a lot in the lake with the water staying just below my knees.  That’s where I like it best!  I can jump off the dock into the shallow water.  My brother was swimming and my mom tried to get me to do it too.  I just didn’t want to.  I don’t like the water that much.  I finally laid down in the shallow part of the lake and was swimming by moving my hands on the bottom of the lake and kicking my feet.  My uncle put an awesome swing in a tree.  I loved swinging on it.  When my mom pushed me high it felt like I was going to fly into the lake.  It was the greatest feeling.  I’m glad she pushed me on it a lot!

I stayed up really late every night.  My mom made me take a nap every day.  I don’t like taking naps because it’s hard for me to fall asleep.  It’s also hard for me when I’m not in my bed with my things.  And, it was too hot to put my heavy blanket on.  But, mom brought along my favorite music and blue bear was with me too.  So I napped every day so I could stay up late.

Near the end of the vacation I was tired of being at the cabin.  I missed my Legos and my other toys at home.  It was hot and I don’t like to be sweaty.  The dirt sticks to me when I’m sweaty and I don’t like that.  I was tired and just wanted to lay around and watch TV but mom wouldn’t let me.  I was tired of having burning bug spray on me and tired of wearing my hat to keep the ticks away.  I just wanted to go home…

Finally we got back into the uncomfortable seat in the car.  Mom turned on my new favorite movie.  That made the trip a lot easier.  I was so tired that I couldn’t do anything but watch my show.  Mom said I was too tired to misbehave and that I did a great job in the car. 

Mom says that we’re going to visit uncle David this weekend.  I wish he would just come here.  I don’t like all this traveling…

About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to An SPD Vacation

  1. The Henrys says:

    What a wonderful mother you are to be able to write this so perfectly from his perspective. You know your son so well, and do everything you can to help him. That takes love and lots of hard work! Good job!!

Leave a Reply

