Out of Sorts

One of Eli’s sensory concerns is modulation.  He has a lot of difficulty modulating his emotions especially.  It used to be more common for him to get upset over something that appear to be minute and continue to cry about it for sometimes up to 45 minutes.  He gets frustrated about it and cries harder because he can’t stop crying.  We’ve found some ways to cope with this and now he only needs gentle reminders on how to calm himself down.  His typical emotional outbursts (if they can be called that) now only last about 10-15 minutes at most and are much more rare.  Usually we notice them if there have been a lot of changes or if he’s extremely tired or if there are too many people around him.

Tonight I got something I didn’t expect.

Tonight there was a tantrum with crying and screaming.  The tantrum lasted more than an hour.  None of my learned techniques helped.  No amount of hugging, holding or soft calming voice helped.  Eventually I went to ignoring and soon thereafter the tantrum stopped.  Why?  Because this was no ordinary tantrum.  This was a tantrum thrown by a tired, little

Keegan!
No wonder my bag of tricks was no good!  Just goes to show that SPD doesn’t always play a role in these crazy trantrums!!
About Brotherly Love

I am a mom, partner, teacher and a lover of life. I have two fabulous boys who define my life as I know it. One of my children has been diagnosed with a sensory processing disorder, Asperger's and anxiety disorder. I blog as much about him as I do about my life and the lives of my immediate family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

